September 11

Cinnamon Coffee Cake

cinnamon coffee cakeDid you know that cinnamon dates back as early as 2000BC (if not earlier!), and was once highly prized among ancient nations and regarded as a gift fit for the gods? Or that cinnamon and cinnamon extract is thought to help control blood glucose levels in type II diabetics?

In the event you didn’t know those facts up above, surely you know how aromatic the spice is, and how quickly it can spread through your entire house when you’re baking or cooking with it. I don’t do nearly enough cooking/baking with cinnamon. Which is to say, I use it a lot, but a lot is still not enough. It’s probably a good thing cinnamon isn’t too pleasant tasting straight from its container, otherwise I might be sneaking a taste or two every now and then. This is the same way I feel about vanilla extract. Smells delicious – tastes awful straight from the bottle.

This quick bread was something I stumbled upon and was instantly sold on based on the fact that it’s touted as coffee cake. While it’s not the sponge-cake-made-with-coffee type of coffee cake, it is something perfect for having alongside a cup of coffee for breakfast or dessert.

This particular dessert was made to accompany dinner at The Fellow’s™ cousin’s house. We have dinner with that part of the family once in awhile and the cousin’s wife and I decide who’s making dinner and who’s bringing dessert. More often than not, I bring dessert, mainly because a lot of the time, I’m not sure what their kiddos like/dislike, and if they’ve had something similar for dinner recently. Obviously they’d know better than I would. I guess I could always ask, too, right? Alas, I enjoy making dessert, and I’m good at it, so might as well stick to what I love, right? Right!

And this cinnamon coffee cake? I love it. A lot. And so did everyone else who had it. Dinner and dessert with the fam was a success. Three leftover pieces came to work with me the next day. Not wanting to come home with it, I told the other gals at work, “I’m not trying to shove this in your faces, but, um, I brought cinnamon coffee cake to work.” The BFF proceeded to rip the plate out of my hands and run away with it where her and the other gal ripped off huge chunks, stuffed it in their cheeks like hungry little squirrels, and cooed over how awful I was for bringing in something so delicious. How dare I do that ;) By the end of the day, there was half of piece left. Mind you, we were not taking bites out of the bread. Just ripping off what we wanted and covering the rest up with foil. That being said, an older woman wandered into the bakery looking for a super sweet treat. Our day-old/extras bowl had scones and rosemary shortbread. We told her we had nothing else, unfortunately. Then she eyed my Ziploc bag of the amaretti morbidi cookies and the covered plate of cinnamon bread. She asked what they were and if they were for sale. I explained that they were from my home – not something the kitchen produces – but if she really wanted to, she was more than welcome to help herself to either one. She slid two dollars into our donation jar (all things we sell in the kitchen become donations for the local humane society – we don’t pocket any of it) and scampered back outside with the biggest grin on her face. Definitely made me a little happy that she’d prefer my goods over what was in the bowl, but again, she was looking for something super sweet and either of the items available weren’t very sweet at all. The coffee cake on the other hand…

…prepare yourself for a very sweet treat. Sweet and delicious and hella moist.

Next time I make these, I’m plopping the batter in mini muffin tins. Those might be a little more dangerous, however.

cinnamon coffee cake

Cinnamon Coffee Cake

source:  Salt and Chocolate [Cinnamon Coffee Cake Bread]

Ingredients

2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup salted sweet cream butter, room temperature
1 cup white granulated sugar
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup buttermilk
1 cup light brown sugar
2 heaping Tablespoons cinnamon

Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 350º. Grease a 9″x5″ loaf pan and set aside.

2. Mix the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt together in a bowl. Combine the buttermilk and vanilla in a measuring cup. Mix the brown sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl.

3. Cream the butter and white sugar, followed by adding the eggs, one at a time.

4. Add 1/3 of the flour mixture to the butter-sugar mixture. Add 1/2 of the buttermilk-vanilla mixture. Repeat flour, buttermilk, flour.

5. In the greased loaf pan, spread 1/3 of the batter on the bottom, then 1/3 of the cinnamon-sugar, batter, cinnamon-sugar, batter, and finish off with cinnamon-sugar.

6. Bake for 50-60 minutes until your cake tester (fork, bamboo skewer, whatever you use) comes out clean. Let cool in the loaf pan for 5 minutes then transfer to a cooling rack.

