September 07

Amaretti Morbidi Cookies

I have followed the Love and Olive Oil blog for I don’t know how long. I love everything about her little niche on the internet, though I will admit that a good percentage of what she posts are things I wouldn’t make. Not because they’re not good, good-sounding, or delicious looking, but because they’re things like making your own tofu (we eat tofu so sparingly to begin with…), or they’re laden with chocolate or nuts, which again are things I don’t really eat/care for. Her photography skills make everything look so perfect, however, and really makes me crave the things I don’t like. Don’t you love/hate when that happens?

Back in June, she posted a recipe she devised for soft almond and egg white cookies that she had had when her and her husband were in Italy. In recent years, almond flavored things have made a regular appearance in my diet, and sometimes even slivered almonds, as they’re an inoffensive flavor and texture, and go well with savory and sweet items. Them and peanuts are my only nuts I will eat and enjoy. Anyway, when she posted the recipe, I pinned it on Pinterest for easy finding at a later date, and put almond flour on my “to buy” grocery list. The next time I headed to the store for a big purchase, I got the flour, and it sat idly in my baking cupboard until this afternoon. I kept telling myself it wasn’t a difficult recipe to make, that it wouldn’t take much time to put together… but I kept putting it off.

I had a big list of things I wanted to make today; things I’ve been putting off and wouldn’t take all too long to make, and therefore, I could cram my afternoon full of baked goods and dinner. Alas, by the time I got home from the store, unpacked all my groceries, and spent a few minutes cooling off and doing some basic chores, it was nearly 4 p.m. and I couldn’t believe I had lost most of my afternoon. I multi-tasked between these cookies, making dinner, and trying to straighten up the kitchen, because let’s be honest, it’s beyond trashed and I’ve had little-to-no ambition to clean it, or the rest of the house.

I was correct in my thinking that it was by no means a difficult recipe to make, nor was it super time consuming. I did find that her bake time of 20-22 minutes was not the case for my oven, and I actually ended up having them in there for a total of 31 minutes. At about the 25 minute mark, I removed the cookies from the oven to check their bottoms (for a “barely golden” color) and while they seemed a-okay there, their insides were still super undercooked. I didn’t think any amount of letting them cool would solidify the insides – like we often have happen at work – so in for another handful of minutes until I was satisfied. And now that they’re fully cooled, I’m glad I did.

They are such a wonderfully soft cookie with some light firmness to them. They have a great almond taste without feeling overwhelmed by that single flavor (like sometimes a mint cookie can be too minty or a lemon cake isn’t the right balance of sweet and tart). Given that these baked up nicely, and are cute to boot, I would highly recommend you give the recipe a try if you can manage to get your hands on almond flour and don’t mind a whole lotta sugar and almond. Mine ended up being rolled into 25 gram balls with a total of 18 cookies made.

amaretti morbidi

Amaretti Morbidi Cookies

source: Love and Olive Oil’s [Amaretti Morbidi Cookies]

Ingredients

200 grams almond flour
200 grams granulated sugar
2 Tablespoons all purpose flour
2 large egg whites (about 60 grams)
pinch of salt
1/2 teaspoon almond extract
confectioner’s sugar, as needed

Directions

1. In a large bowl, sift together almond flour, sugar, and flour.

2. In another bowl, whisk egg whites with a pinch of salt until they are foamy and fall into soft mounds (not quite soft peaks). Whisk in almond extract. Add to bowl with dry ingredients and stir until it comes together, kneading with your hands if necessary until it forms a sticky dough.

3. Lightly dust your hands with powdered sugar, scoop out pieces of dough (a small cookie scoop works perfectly) and roll into 1-inch balls. Arrange on parchment or silicon-lined baking sheets, leaving 1 inch of space between cookies.

4. Heat oven to 300 degrees F, letting cookies sit out and dry in the meantime for about 15 to 20 minutes.

5. When oven is heated, bake cookies for 20 to 22 minutes* or until tops are cracked and bottoms are just barely golden. Let cool for 2 to 3 minutes on baking sheets, then transfer to wire racks to cool completely. Cookies will keep, sealed in an airtight container, for up to 3 days.

*My cookies took a total of 31 minutes

