August 28

Sopa Azteca

This recipe for sopa azteca is something I found through a blog I’ve been reading since April. The owner of the blog had posted goat cheese and chive biscuits, and while it’s something I haven’t even come close to attempting to make, they sounded fabulous, as well as many other things she has there. Much of what she posts makes me drool and I really want to make most, if not all of it, but this particular recipe jumped out at me and screamed, “MAKE ME, MAKE ME NOWWWWW!” and when I have recipes yelling at me, well, I should probably listen. There’s no telling what a talking recipe can do to you if you don’t heed its advice.

I shared the recipe with The Fellow™ and he definitely was down to try it out. When I said, “I think I might make this,” his response was:  “I’m not going to tell you no.” And in The Fellow™ speak, that means, “Yes, do it now!”

Well, we grabbed everything we needed one day with all intentions of making it for dinner the following night, however it was postponed to the next night, as he was invited to go fishing with his dad and half-brother and I didn’t want to make soup for one. I was a little hesitant about roasting the vegetables, mainly because I rarely do any cooking over 400º and once the oven actually reached 450º, the hinges on the oven door start creaking something awful. I’ll admit that I’m scared of an oven at high temperatures like this. Actually, the truth of it is, I’m not so much afraid of the oven and its high heat, but rather the kind of damage it can do, e.g. catching something on fire, including me. It’s an unfounded fear, but I’ve seen my parents start many-a thing on fire when broiling in the oven and it’s sort of scarred me for life. I’m trying my best to get over my little issues, but there’s nothing like seeing a flaming tortilla come flying out of the oven as a child. It sticks with you!

But after much hand wringing and monitoring of the oven, all was well and nothing started on fire. Roasting the vegetables was a success and I feel confident I can do it again without fear. I’ll just have to make sure it’s not an 80º+ day when I do it.

My only changes to this recipe was not including Mexican oregano in roasting the vegetables and not using sunflower oil. Minimal income means you have to do without certain things and those were ingredients I thought I could live without. At least for the first try. I also did not make tortilla strips, as it was one more thing I didn’t feel like doing – frying up food is one of my least favorite activities in the kitchen. Mainly because the oil splatters all over the glass top and I hate having to clean that damn thing three times a day.

Sopa Azteca

Sopa Azteca

source:  The Bojon Gourmet [Roasted Vegetable Sopa Azteca…]

Ingredients

1 large yellow onion
1 pound large, ripe tomatoes, quartered
4 large garlic cloves, peeled
2 tablespoons sunflower oil
1/2 teaspoon Mexican oregano
1/4 teaspoon fine sea salt, plus another 3/4 teaspoon
6 cups water
1 1/2 Tablespoons ancho chile powder
1 teaspoon smoked paprika
3-6 Tablespoons freshly-squeezed lime juice*
1 1/2 pounds summer squash, trimmed, in 1/2″ pieces
3 large ears of sweet corn
2 tablespoons sunflower oil, divided
1 large avocado
1 cup crumbled queso fresco or cotija cheese
*try to find yellowed limes; very green limes will yield an extremely sour flavor. If yellowed limes are not attainable, cut back on the amount of juice included

Find the rest of the recipe over at The Bojon Gourmet

