August 02

Lasagna with White Sauce

I do a lot of perusing for recipes on the internet – this is no secret. A good chunk of the posts I make are recipes from other people. I don’t take credit for the things I didn’t come up with, and even if I gain inspiration from someone’s blog, but do something entirely different, with a bit of their inspiring flair included, I give the credit to them. Now, I can’t say that this white sauce recipe is entirely mine. I was given an idea from several different sites that more or less said:  “Make sauce by combining several different measurements of flour and milk/cream. Stir until not lumpy.”

Well, I’ll be honest – I wasn’t impressed by the idea of milk or cream and flour gracing the top of a lasagna or pasta. It seemed like it would lack flavor, severely. Since I’ve been making my own alfredo sauce and macaroni and cheese from scratch for some time now, I knew simple additions of things like butter and even a mild tasting cheese would bump this up to something palatable and worth including in a dish, versus being empty calories.

So here’s a delicious white sauce that goes great in a lasagna, would make a good mac and cheese base (if, of course, you added some sharp cheeses, too), and can even work with Mexican foods, if desired. Then again, Mexican + Parmesan – I’m not 100% sold. But it gives me some pretty awesome ideas for a future dinner…

Lasagna with White Sauce

Lasagna with White Sauce


Ingredients

White Sauce

2 1/2 cups milk
1/2 cup flour
5 Tablespoons butter
1/2 cup grated Parmesan or Pecorino Romano
1 teaspoon salt
1 Tablespoon black pepper
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon onion powder

Lasagna

12 no boil lasagna noodles
15 ounces tomato sauce
1 large zucchini, diced
1 cup sweet corn
2 cups kidney beans
1 cup mushrooms, finely chopped
White Sauce (recipe above)

Directions

White Sauce

1. In a small pot, let the butter melt over medium heat. Add milk and flour and whisk continuously until it starts to thicken; about 3-5 minutes.

2. Add Parmesan or Pecorino Romano cheese and spices and continue to whisk vigorously, making sure none of it burns to the bottom. When thickened to preference, remove from heat and set aside.

Lasagna

1. Assemble as desired, but for best results:  layer no boil noodles, tomato sauce, vegetables and meat, covered in white sauce; repeat. Top layer should be white sauce and tomato sauce.

2. Cover with tin foil and bake in the oven at 375º for 40-50 minutes. White sauce and tomato sauce layer should be bubbling. Remove foil and let bake an additional 5-10 minutes.

