August 01

Red Bell Pepper & Chèvre Alfredo

I think it’s pretty obvious that when I make a pasta, I really enjoy sausage as my “meat of choice”. But not Italian sausage; oh no. Andouille or kielbasa, but nine times out of ten, we go for the Andouille. I’m in love with it and unfortunately, due to where we live and a slightly tightened meal budget, the best I can get is Johnsonville brand. Which makes me sad. I make do, however.

When I saw this recipe the other night, I knew I had to add a few things to my grocery list, since things like goat cheese, or chèvre, isn’t something I readily stock in my refrigerator, and I had recently used the last of my heavy cream.

One thing only a handful of people know about me is how much I hate to shop. It is the bane of my existence… unless it’s dealing with books or food. I enjoy food shopping immensely. I don’t know why and I’m not sure I want to know why, but it’s something I take great pleasure in (just not the bill). If I had more money to throw at groceries, I’d be in heaven. I love perusing produce at the whole food markets (and farmer’s markets!); I love trying new items (that are inevitably expensive more often than not); and I enjoy getting good deals. But I’m not a coupon clipper or bargain shopper – ain’t nobody got time for that.

So on top of buying goat cheese and heavy cream, fresh asparagus and broccoli needed to grace my shopping cart, since I have a hard time making pasta without pumping it full of green vegetables. Zucchini would have made an appearance, as well, if I wasn’t making a zucchini frittata tomorrow and using up the rest of the zukes I have from the garden…

I also enjoy a vegetable-only pasta, too. But knowing The Fellow™ had a hard day and would probably prefer a meaty dish as opposed to veggies only, I opted for Andouille. Plus it satiates my sausage lust.

Wait. That sounded really bad.

Carrying on.

Over at Lauren’s Latest – where I got the recipe for the alfredo sauce – she does a few things differently than I do, so definitely check out her post if you want a slight variation (mainly a different ‘flavor’ of the goat cheese’, no pepper flakes, using Half & Half, and no vegetable or meat additions).

 

Red Bell Pepper & Chèvre Alfredo

Red Bell Pepper & Chèvre Alfredo

source: inspired by Lauren’s Latest [Red Bell Pepper & Goat Cheese Alfredo]

Ingredients

Alfredo

2 red bell peppers
1 cup heavy cream
4 ounces chèvre (goat cheese)
1/2 cup onions, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 Tablespoons olive oil

Pasta

8 ounces linguine
14 ounces Andouille
1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
1 cup broccoli florets
1 cup asparagus, chopped
pepper, to taste

Directions

Roasting Bell Peppers

1. Heat oven to 500º and place whole bell peppers on a baking sheet. Let bell peppers roast (not broil) for 20-30 minutes until their skin starts to blacken, slightly wrinkle, and split in places. Remove from oven and set aside to let cool.

2. When they are cool enough to handle, remove stems, seeds, and skin from both peppers. Set aside.

3. Meanwhile, cook linguine – or pasta of choice – to al dente.

Andouille Mixture

In a small skillet, quarter the Andouille and toss in dry, on medium heat. Fry up until it produces a little oil, then add asparagus and red pepper flakes. Continue to cook the two together for about 5 minutes. Add broccoli florets and cook until they turn bright green. Remove from heat and set aside.

Alfredo

1. In a large skillet, warm olive oil on medium heat. Add in onions and garlic and saute until the onions are translucent in color, and the garlic is fragrant.

2. Add heavy cream and chèvre to the pan, lowering the heat to low-medium. Sauce will start to thicken as it heats.

3. Combine the sauce and roasted bell pepper in any of the following ways:  with an emulsifier in your pan, with a food processor, or with a blender. Any of these ways work to puree the bell peppers and sauce into a thick, orange alfredo.

4. Return sauce to pan (if using a food processor or blender) and add Andouille mixture and pasta.

