July 09

Honey Wheat Rolls

IMG_8545  I’ve wanted to make sandwich rolls, hamburger buns, and hot dog buns for a long time. I bookmark a recipe I find for something that sounds easy and tasty, and inevitably never get around to it. Now I’m going the distance to actually get it done. I wanted to make barbecue beef sandwiches for dinner tonight and thought homemade buns sounded perfect. One of my favorite blogs, Annie’s Eats, provided a recipe for honey wheat sandwich rolls that are the epitome of perfect. They’re incredibly simple to whip up and are a cinch to form – you just need a little time to let the dough rise. I was mighty surprised to find that after returning home from grocery shopping and having left my dough in a big bowl tightly covered in plastic wrap, the dough had doubled (at least) in size and was still going at it; then dividing the dough and having it double in size again before popping them in the oven. Honey Wheat Rolls

One mistake I made was doubting how much the rolls would spread (if at all) while baking and trying to move them to another parchment, and having them deflate right before my eyes. Horrified that I may have possibly ruined them, there was nothing else I could do besides brush them with melted butter and honey and pop them in the oven. They came out beautifully. Perfectly domed, perfect in color, perfect texture and color. And the taste? Phenomenal.

I really do love making bread from scratch. In addition to my “I’ve wanted to make sandwich rolls, hamburger buns, and hot dog buns”, I want to never have to buy bread in the store again. I’ve already got my breadsticks down pat (and need to make more to stash in the freezer), and my French loaf needs a little work but is still pretty damn awesome; the next thing – after these of course – is sandwich bread. Slices of bread we can use for sandwiches that’s healthy, easy to make, and cheaper than store-bought. I just haven’t found a decent recipe yet. One of these days, though…

Honey Wheat Rolls

Honey Wheat Rolls

source:  Annie’s Eats [Honey Wheat Sandwich Rolls]

Ingredients

1 1/4 cups milk, warmed
2 1/4 teaspoon instant yeast
2 cups bread flour, plus 1/4 – 1/2 cup more for adjusting as needed
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 egg, room temperature
1/4 cup honey plus 1-2 Tablespoons, divided
2 Tablespoons butter, melted
Sesame seeds (optional)

Directions

1. Measure out the milk in a liquid measuring cup. Add in the instant yeast and stir to dissolve.

2. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine the bread flour (2 cups), wheat flour and salt. Mix briefly on low speed to combine.

3. Add the yeast-milk mixture, egg, and 1/4 cup of honey to the mixer bowl and mix on low speed just until a dough has formed. Switch to the dough hook. Continue kneading on low speed with the dough hook until the dough is smooth and tacky but not sticky, adding extra flour 1 – 2 Tablespoons at a time as needed until the dough clears the sides of the bowl and has the desired consistency.

4. Transfer the dough to a lightly oiled bowl, turn to coat, and cover with plastic wrap. Let rise until doubled in bulk, about 1 1/2 – 2 hours.

5. Once the dough has risen, transfer the ball to a lightly floured work surface and gently deflate the dough. Divide the dough into 9-10 equal sized pieces (if using a kitchen scale to achieve uniform size, make 3.25-3.5 oz. pieces). Form each piece of dough into a flattened round, 3.5-4 inches in diameter. Transfer the shaped rounds to a parchment or silpat-lined baking sheet. Cover with a clean kitchen towel and let rise until nearly doubled, about 1 hour.

6. Preheat the oven to 350° F. Combine the melted butter with 1 – 2 Tablespoons of honey and lightly brush the tops of the rolls. Sprinkle with sesame seeds, if desired. Bake for 14-15 minutes*, rotating the pan halfway through baking, until golden brown and baked through. Let cool on the baking sheet for 5 minutes, then transfer to a cooling rack to cool completely.

*I found that with my standard oven, 15 minutes was not enough time to achieve a nice golden brown color. At the 15 minute mark, the tops were barely browned. I ended up baking them for about 20 minutes and I think they are the perfect texture, color, and flavor with no hint of being under- or over-done.

