July 09

Honey Beer Chicken

This recipe starts my turning over a new leaf. In the past, I’ve talked about my diet change. I needed to lose weight and instead of taking on some crash diet or restricting myself to only salads, I took the me-route and portion controlled, moved around more without necessarily going hardcore on any exercise equipment, and introduced better foods into our diets (The Fellow’s™ and mine, that is), but still allowing myself to eat junk. I just don’t eat it every single day, day after day. That’s how I managed to balloon up so severely.

Well, I fell off that happy little weight-losing bandwagon for close to a year and gained some of the weight back. About 8 pounds. I was depressed, I was seeking solace in food, and while I thought I was happier, I was just fatter. Not a solution. So earlier this year, I decided to lose those pounds I gained back, plus a couple more, and my body has stalled. I don’t have the income to go to a gym and make use of their machines, so I rely on things like brisk walks at the dog park with the mutt in tow, taking extra long at grocery stores, walking up and down every aisle even if I don’t need to be down there (plus I get to exercise will power when I see my weaknesses and don’t buy it). Foodwise, I’m trying my best to make a lot of things at home instead of going out or buying a bunch of frozen crap that’s double the price of what it would cost to do it myself.

On top of all that blah blah blah up top, The Fellow™ has started working swing shift at his place of employment. I’m not happy about this at all, but, it could be worse. I could still be working full time which means I would have to stay up until 1 a.m. every night to see him, since he gets to bed around 4 a.m. and I was getting up at 6 a.m. and he’d be gone before I got home. At least now, I’ll only have to deal with that on Thursdays when I go into the bakery. And we’ll still have weekends. With him going to swing, I pretty much make myself dinner with enough for him to have dinner when he gets home and enough to have leftovers for his “lunch” the next day. While this isn’t anything new, it’s a different experience altogether because now I don’t have someone helping me decide on dinner or talking me out of going out to eat. As much as we both enjoy going out to eat, even somewhere cheap and crappy like McDonald’s, he’s the voice of reason that reminds me we should probably eat in to save money. Plus, with all the hot weather we’ve been having and our house lacking insulation, cooking is a royal pain in my ass, unless I can do it first thing in the morning and microwave it to heat it up later in the afternoon when it’s time to eat.

So to start our new arrangement, I found this recipe and thought it sounded fantastic. We haven’t had chicken in a little while and with a whole bag of tenderloins in the basement freezer, it was about time we used it! Paired with steamed carrots and buttery, Parmesan couscous, it made an awesome meal.

As a side note, when The Fellow™ got home from work last night/this morning, I had only been asleep for about half an hour, and he came in to say hi since he heard me and the dog moving around, and the first thing he commented on was how delicious dinner looked.

Honey Beer Chicken

Honey Chicken Beer

source:  So, How’s It Taste? [Chicken with Honey-Beer Sauce]

Ingredients

2 teaspoons vegetable oil
4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/8 teaspoon salt
3 Tablespoons thinly sliced shallots*
1/2 cup beer
2 Tablespoons lower-sodium soy sauce
1 Tablespoon whole-grain Dijon mustard
1 Tablespoon honey
2  Tablespoons fresh flat-leaf parsley leaves*

*Items I did not have

Directions

1. Heat a large skillet over medium-high. Add oil to pan; swirl to coat. Sprinkle chicken evenly with pepper and salt. Add chicken to pan; saute 6 minutes on each side or until done.

2. Remove chicken from pan; keep warm. Add shallots to pan (if using); cook 1 minute or until translucent.

3. Combine beer, soy sauce, Dijon mustard, and honey in a small bowl; stir with a whisk.

4. Add beer mixture to pan; bring to a boil, scraping pan to loosen browned bits. Cook 3 minutes or until liquid is reduced to 1/2 cup.

5. Return chicken to pan; turn to coat with sauce. Sprinkle evenly with parsley, if using.

