May 16

Cornbread Casserole

If there’s one thing I could eat all the time (and would so not be good for me) is cornbread. I love cornbread with barbecued food, I love cornbread muffins on their own (especially with sweet butter), I love it on/in casseroles, and I love making pot pies with cornbread crust. If you’re buying a pre-made mix from the store, they’re relatively cheap and feed a family of 4. Making cornbread from scratch is easy, if you have all of the fairly basic ingredients. But since I stocked up on cornbread mix awhile back, I need to go through it before it goes bad. Once the packages are gone, I’m making cornbread from scratch. That’s actually been something I’m trying to do more and more. We have all these pre-made mixes that are stupid easy to make on their own, but we need to not waste. I suppose I could easily donate to a food bank, so long as they haven’t expired, but at the same time, I still have a soft spot for pre-made mixes. Plus they’re easier than homemade and some days, I don’t have the patience for that extra bit of measuring and mess.

I know, I know. I’m lazy. You don’t have to remind me.

This casserole was somewhat of a guessing game. I wasn’t sure how much liquid it would need without completely drying out and turning into a gross dry blob; I wasn’t entirely sure what flavors I should incorporate; I wasn’t sure if it would even work. That’s the wonder of tinkering in the kitchen, though. The end result is a reminder that I’m not a complete dum-dum (dumb-dumb?) in the kitchen! It was a savory, slightly sweet filling chunk of a meal. Definitely something I would try to recreate, if not perfect.

IMG_6703

Cornbread Casserole

source: Apollo & Co.

Ingredients

1 pack cornbread mix
1 can creamed corn
1 can kernel corn
2 eggs
1/2 cup butter, melted
4 pieces bacon, cooked and crumbled
1/2 cup bell peppers, diced
6-8 ounces chicken, boiled and diced

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350°. Grease a casserole dish.

2. Cook chicken and bacon their respective ways and prepare all other ingredients as needed.

3. Mix together all ingredients. It’s okay if the batter is lumpy. Pour into greased casserole dish.

4. Bake in the oven for 45 minutes, or until a fork inserted in the middle comes out pretty dry and crumb-free. A little gooey won’t hurt either.

