April 21

Creamy Pesto Pasta

Pasta, pasta, pasta. If I thought I wouldn’t get tired of talking about pasta, I would have a pasta-only food blog. I won’t bore you with my in depth love of the dish. Instead, I’ll jump right into the meat of things.

Shrimp and cream sauce. Shrimp and pesto. What the heck do you do when you can’t decide? Why, use both, of course!

I know it’s not some fancy new invention that came to be in my kitchen; I’m sure this combination has been used for years and years and years and years and even more years than that. But it sure feels like I created something amazing.

IMG_7418

Creamy Pesto Pasta

Ingredients

1 pound shrimp, peeled and deveined
1 cup broccoli florets
1/4 cup red bell pepper
1/4 cup onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 Tablespoon salted sweet cream butter
1 cup heavy whipping cream
4-5 Tablespoons pesto
2 Tablespoons olive oil
pepper, to taste

Directions

1. In a large skillet, warm olive oil over medium-high heat. Saute the onion and garlic until desired doneness. Dependent on the flavor your prefer – translucent for milder and mellow flavors; browned for a bit stronger.

2. Add shrimp and cook until pink and sizzling in the pan, making sure to stir the ingredients occasionally.

3. Add bell peppers and broccoli. Saute with the other ingredients until the broccoli has become that brilliant bright green color.

4. Lower heat to medium. Add heavy whipping cream and pesto. Be sure to mix the two well, whether you do it before adding to the skillet or adding them individually to the skillet. Add desired amount of pepper, to taste.

5. Let the sauce simmer until the cream thickens. Pour over cooked noodles of choice.

