March 18

No Sugar No Oil Coconut Banana Bread

First and foremost:  when your dessert bread starts looking like meatloaf with onions, you know you might have a problem.

I try new baking recipes all the time. Sometimes I hesitate to try these new things. 9 times out of 10, they are excellent and I’m glad I took the plunge. The other 1 time, well, you get meatloaf bread.

That’s not being fair to healthy banana bread, however. The big draw to this recipe for me was that it uses no granulated sugar or oil. If you were to plug in all the ingredients into a diet calculator to see just how much of everything is in it, you’d be a little shocked, honestly. 541 carbs, 2400 calories, 291 grams of sugar, and (wowza!) only 15 grams of fat for the whole loaf. I cut this bad boy into 16 pieces which makes allll those numbers shrink considerably, but the numbers still seem too high. Luckily for all of us, the carbs, the sugars, and the fats are relatively healthy. Compared to a regular banana bread that uses white granulated sugar and oil, this is one healthy batch of goodness different tasting stuff.

IMG_7368

I was willing to give this banana bread a shot. I’ll be honest and say that I can usually tell when something it going to be a hit or miss based on the batter. I was left with that acrid whole wheat flour taste in my mouth long after the bread loaf entered the oven. I had my fingers crossed that this wouldn’t be half bad. And it’s not. But it’s only about half good, too. This is definitely a recipe I want to improve on. I think it can be a great thing, maybe with some liquid stevia and less honey or more applesauce and a pinch of brown sugar. I figured adding shredded sweetened coconut in the mix would give it that little flavor oomph – because apparently my bananas, while overripe like they should have been, lacked any flavor – and it did, but not enough.

The Fellow™ and I had a guest over this evening and while I was telling him about how different this bread was, he made tasty noises and called it good. I like to believe my friends and peers would tell me if something I made was awful or just not very good, so here’s to hoping I’m the only one having issues with the whole wheat flour taste overpowering everything else. I normally don’t have issues with WWF, so it mixed with one of the other ingredients must be causing it. I’m gonna say it’s the clover honey. Yeah. That’s it.

Coconut Banana Bread

source: 8 Weeks to a Better You [Banana Bread]

Ingredients

2 cups whole wheat flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup sugar free applesauce
3/4 cup honey
2 eggs, beaten
3 mashed overripe bananas
1/2 cup shredded coconut

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Lightly grease a 9×5 inch loaf pan.

2. In a large bowl, combine flour, baking soda and salt. In a separate bowl, mix together applesauce and honey. Stir in eggs, mashed bananas, and coconut until well blended. Stir banana mixture into flour mixture; stir just to moisten. Pour batter into prepared loaf pan.

3. Bake in preheated oven for 60 to 65 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into center of the loaf comes out clean. Let bread cool in pan for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack.

