March 15

Crockpot Balsamic Chicken

We’ve been trying to be really good about not eating out at night. Hell, I’ve been trying to be really good about not eating out at all during the week. I definitely didn’t go the whole time without a bit or bite here and there, but compared to what I’ve been doing recently? Super successful, I am!

In our attempt to be better, I’ve been trying to have meals ready either by the time we’re home (a la the crockpot) or soon after arriving home. One of our biggest downfalls is being starving when we both get home and me not wanting to go cook. Or if the kitchen is trashed, I don’t want to trash it more by dirtying dishes, and therefore, we must eat out. If food is ready or I’m really excited about trying something out, we will eat in. It’s that simple.

So I found this dish. A balsamicky honey-y rosemary-y chicken. I had no clue what I was getting into. I pulled out my handy dandy crockpot liner, opened that bad boy up, tossed in all the ingredients, and we were good to go. The nice thing about this recipe was that it was ready in less than 4 hours. It was a good decision on my part to make this at the last minute, as the last minute was about 2 o’clock on a Sunday. Still got to eat before midnight!

I had no idea what to expect from the final product. I did know that cornstarch was added near the end of the cooking process, to thicken the juice into a sauce, but beyond that, no clue. The house smelled of a mix of balsamic vinegar and milk and honey. I was melting a wax melt thing that smelled of milk and honey and well… it kept throwing me off. I kept thinking dinner was going to be sweet as hell. Luckily, this was not the case. Though I think a large part of that is due to the fact that I didn’t use as much honey as the recipe called for. Mostly I didn’t want to dirty a tablespoon with sticky honey and I eyeballed it as best I could. Which means less than it should have been.

When it came down to the last half an hour of cooking, I wasn’t sure what to pair it with. Rice didn’t sound good; couscous didn’t rub me the right way; pasta was out of the question since we had had it the before. I know, I know. Me? Turn down pasta? The only option left – at least of things we had in the house – was parmesan mashed potatoes. I think I made the right decision. The salty of the potatoes balanced the sweetness of the balsamic vinegar and honey. The meal ended up being quite the success despite all the upfront hesitations I had. I will definitely be adding this one to the “make again” list.

IMG_7317

Crockpot Balsamic Chicken

[I’m going to be honest and say I can’t remember where I found this recipe]

Ingredients

1 pound boneless, skinless chicken
1/3 cup balsamic vinegar
1/3 cup olive oil
2 Tablespoons honey
1 cup water
3 Tablespoons fresh rosemary
salt and pepper to taste
1 tablespoon cornstarch

Directions

1) Add all ingredients to the crockpot and cook on low for 6-8 hours or high 3-4 hours.

2) 10 minutes before you’re ready to serve, add the cornstarch and mix well. The sauce will thicken and makes for a great addition over rice, noodles, or mashed potatoes.

