February 23

Water Bobble

Over the years, I’ve amassed a collection of water containers that have served me well as far as holding liquid and dispensing liquid goes, but when it came time to cleaning, you better believe I was ready to throw them in the trash. Some of them, I did. When I’m at home, I have no real use for a water bottle, as we have proper glasses or mason jars or whatever the hell else is in the cabinets. Honestly, I’ve used large glass measuring cups as a drink holder (short-term) because it was easier than washing dirty glasses. However, when it boils down to travel mugs or reusable water bottles, I’ve become quite picky. As mentioned, the cleaning process on a variety of both travel mugs and water bottles can be monotonous. We have one fantastic travel mug that we use to transport our Keurig teas and coffees that does its job, but be damned, I can’t manage to squeeze my hand down to the very bottom to clean it. It’s not that I have monster hands, oh no, but it tapers in such a way that I have to stretch my scrubby sponge beyond my fingers and hope I’m getting all the corners. As much as a round container has corners. A scalding hot, soapy colonic only does so much, too. It doesn’t do any scrubbing and even letting it sit for awhile (especially in a container designed to keep liquid hot), only accomplishes so much.

Beyond the trivialities that come with liquid holders and dispensers, there’s also the problem of clean tasting water. I’ve also become picky over the years when it comes to buying bottled water at the store. I try to avoid it because it’s unnecessarily expensive to buy some labeled piece of plastic with water “bottled at the source” – which I’ve been told can mean bottled from a tap in a town near the spring – however, sometimes it can’t be avoided. Since I’ve cut soda out of my diet entirely, when I pop into the grocery store to buy lunch and I forgot to bring my own from-home water along, I have to break down and buy a bottle. I think Arrowhead water is disgusting. Evian and Fiji are too expensive (ooh, let me pay extra for a SQUARE bottle, plz), and if I’m lucky, I can find a bottle of Dasani or Aquafina for cheap. Those are my go-tos. Or Voss. But the glass bottle makes it unattainably expensive for what it is. Luckily, at home, we have a Pur filter, and in a pinch, our tap water isn’t the worst there is (having grown up in Hawaii where tap water is divine, I’m spoiled…), but it’s solely used for brushing teeth and taking a quick swig to swallow down pills. Until now.

After many failed attempts at cleaning products like this or reusing a plastic bottle, I think I’ve found an answer that has proven to be a worthy companion while I’m at the office (seeing as how we have no water machine and our tap water is well water and runs brown when it’s below 35 degrees).

bobble.

IMG_7107

Yes, this pretty little thing is a light weight, aesthetically pleasing, filtering machine. The filter dongle (I just like the word “dongle”) comes in a variety of colors, is usable up to an equivalent of 300 16.9 ounce bottles of water (mine is the 34 ounce version) before the filter requires replacing, and boasts many important qualities one should look for in a product, including made in the USA, BPA free, reusable, and recyclable.

bobble has a fairly hefty list of products they offer and all at reasonable prices. The largest of these standard bobbles go for $12.99 with free shipping, and there are also 64 ounce jugs for $19.99, and filter replacements for $6.99 each. The first bottle comes with a filter, and when you consider just how much water 300 16.9 bottles equals, I’d say it’s a pretty damn good deal, even if $7 for a replacement filter seems expensive. It’s really not, I promise.

I’ll be honest and say that when I first received it, I thought it felt flimsy and would shatter the first time I squeezed too hard. It has proven to be resilient to even the toughest combination of squeezing and sucking (hey! get your minds out of the gutter!), and is super easy to clean if you also purchase a bottle brush (or a bobble brush, since they sell those too; albeit in only two colors). Again, a combination of hot soapy water and vigorous swishing, swirling, shimmying, and shaking will only get you so far. I find that I’m more inclined to use the bobble at home, as well, as it’s easier to fill it up from the tap and drink immediately, versus filling the Pur pitcher, waiting for it to filter, etc. etc. I use my Pur pitcher water for my morning fiber drink (gag), but only because the fiber THAT WON’T DISSOLVE would kill the filter in the bobble in a heartbeat. And we can’t have that. Something else I really enjoy about the bobble is its shape. It fits my small hand splendidly. I don’t feel as if it’s too bulky or unwieldy to carry for more than a minute, even when at full capacity, and it slips into my messenger bag purse with ease, and still allow for my checkbook sized wallet and sunglasses to fit without fear of anything breaking. It fits in the big size cup holder in my car and even fits, sideways, in my cold storage lunch bag. I’ve read reviews that claim this product is cheaply made and leaks like crazy and I do not agree. As I mentioned, yes, I thought it felt flimsy, but just because something is lightweight doesn’t mean it’s cheap. Well, not always. I have not had any problems with leaking, though I will admit I’ve made the mistake of filling it too much and having it spill when I insert the dongle, but that’s not the bobble’s fault, now is it?

I definitely feel that this was money well spent. I would recommend it to anyone looking to invest in a reusable water bottle. Some people don’t care. Some people are happy to reuse an Aquafina bottle over and over. Some would argue it’s just cheaper to buy a 24 pack of Crystal Geyser water. But here’s something to consider:  your local Albertson’s probably has a 24 pack of Crystal Geyser for $2.99. That’s about 12.5 cents a bottle! What a great price! To get the equivalent of a bobble filter, you would have to buy 12 1/2 cases of Crystal Geyser. That’s $37. That’s also 300 plastic bottles that’s going to end up at the dump, if you don’t recycle, or if you do, they get melted down and reused for something else that may not be recyclable. I know a lot of people who don’t recycle and that’s the worrisome part.

The 18.5 ounce bobble, with filter, is $9.99. And unless you can find a way to break the bobble (I’m sure you could run over it and it would break, but so would most things), the bottle is good for… gods know how long! I don’t want to come off sounding like some tree hugging, granola eating, unwashed hippie who’s going to try to convince you that a lion can eat tofu (thanks, Futurama), but I do like money-saving, healthy options, and so should you.

