February 07

Beef & Pumpkin Chili

Yes! A pumpkin recipe long after autumn!

Many years ago, when The Fellow™ and I were living in our little one bedroom apartment, he made us dinner. It was chili. It had beef, it had beans, it had other miscellaneous chili-esque veggies. It had pumpkin.

Wait. What? Pumpkin? Really?

Now, this may not be a new concept to some people, but it surely was to me then. I had never even bought a can of pumpkin in my entire life. It wasn’t something on my list of “to buy”. I didn’t like pumpkin pie, either.

Well, things have changed and my palate has improved greatly. I can appreciate things I would have pooh-pooh’d ages ago. You mean you can enhance the flavor of something with just a bit of black pepper and some fresh garlic?! How crazy is that?! ;)

I was a dumb dumb, what can I say. Living with my other half has made me a better person in innumerable ways, including food stuffs. For that, I have to thank him, and I do (albeit, silently) on a daily basis when I whip up something I would have turned my nose up at as recently as our apartment life.

But on to the chili.

If you haven’t cooked with pumpkin much, you may not realize the depth and texture it adds to a meal. For those of you that have cooked with pumpkin, you know what you’re getting in to when you add it to something like chili or a stew.

This is a really simple recipe that literally took me all of a few minutes to prepare. The longest process is browning the meat and letting it simmer. And maybe opening all the cans of ingredients if you have a shoddy can opener.

I’m sad there was only one container’s worth of chili left after dinner and we portioned out lunch for the next day. It just means I’ll have to make more in the future and double everything so we can have lots leftover for later dinner endeavors when I can’t be arsed to pull together a whole meal.

Beef & Pumpkin Chili

source:  me

Ingredients

1 pound ground beef
2 cups reduced sodium beef broth
15 ounces kidney beans
15 ounces chick peas
15 ounces sweet corn
15 ounces (1 can) Libby’s pumpkin puree
1/2 medium yellow onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 Tablespoon olive oil
pepper
salt
cumin
liquid smoke (optional)

Directions

1. Cook the ground beef and drain excess fat. Pat dry and set aside.

2. Add the olive oil and heat in a skillet and cook onions and garlic until translucent and slightly browned, respectively. Remove from excess oil.

3. In a pot, add onions, garlic, browned ground beef, broth, beans, corn, and pumpkin. Add spices to desired flavor; keep in mind a little salt will go a long way in this recipe.

4. Cover and simmer on low heat for up to an hour.

