January 21

Asparagus, Zucchini, Kielbasa Pasta

I have decided I am going to live off of pasta for a long, long time.

What has made me come to this decision?

The tried and true versatility of the ingredient. Different shapes, different textures, different colors, different everything. And that’s just the pasta itself. Chuck in just about any other ingredients your heart desires and you’ve got dinner.

I made a list today, of things to make for dinner in the upcoming days. The Fellow™ and I have been pretty bad about eating out recently. I have a bunch of extra time now, what with the new job that doesn’t require me to sit in traffic for 2 hours every day anymore, and allowing me to use that time to put together a real meal. Sadly, I have not been taking advantage of that extra time. I come home, I’m starving, I want to eat now. We have no “instant” food, short of ramen, canned vegetables, and maybe some deli meat. One could argue that’s more than enough to make a meal, but the actual making is what’s keeping me fat. That is to say, it’s what’s making me say, “Ehhhh, let’s just eat out tonight. My treat.”

We need to stop this behavior.

I don’t want to. But I have to. We have to.

So anyway, pasta for dinner every night! Now, while this won’t actually happen, I would like to eat more of it. We have pasta maybe once a week. It’s usually chock full of vegetables and one type of meat. Sometimes. Tonight’s dinner is something I’ve done before and is a slight variation on some other recipes I may or may not have showcased in this blog. My dad bought us a bunch of Kowalski brand kielbasa the last time he was in Michigan and he sent it to us in the mail, along with some other delicious goodies we occasionally get treated to. (Kowalski is a Michigan-based brand I grew up with that you can’t find outside the state… or outside that area, ’cause I think you might be able to find it at Meijer’s) Anyway, kielbasa. Kowalski brand kielbasa. I loves me some. The Fellow™ loves him some. And the perfect place for it is in a pasta dish with other delicious ingredients that also definitely belong in a pasta dish.

I honestly can say I’ve come to love lighter or white sauces on pasta in recent months. I’m still a fan of a simple red sauce over meatballs and plain Jane spaghetti, but something about lightly buttered pasta mixed in with shrimp and seasoning or a homemade creamy white sauce made out of pure awesomeness (and a little bit of heavy whipping cream…) hits the spot. I hope you’ll agree when you try this recipe.

IMG_6859

Less is more when it comes to a cream sauce.

Asparagus, Zucchini, Kielbasa Pasta

source:  my brain

Ingredients

6 ounces angel hair pasta
1 kielbasa sausage
2 medium zucchinis
1/2 medium bell pepper, diced
10 asparagus spears, diced
1 cup heavy whipping cream
1/3 cup pecorino romano/parmesan
2 Tablespoons olive oil
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
salt and pepper to taste
(optional) additional pecorino romano/parmesan as a topping

Directions

1. Cook kielbasa per package instructions. A good rule of thumb is 375° for about 20 minutes, until seams start to split. Remove from oven, let cool, and cut into bite sized pieces.

2. Boil the pasta per package instructions or to preference. Angel hair cooks in about 4-5 minutes, so don’t wander off too far!

3. In a large pan, warm olive oil over medium heat and add garlic. Let cook until fragrant, about 2 minutes. Add diced asparagus and zucchini to the pan and coat well with the oil. Cook for about 4-5 minutes, until the asparagus turns bright green. Add the bell pepper and kielbasa. Mix well and let sit to cook for an additional 5 minutes.

4. Add the heavy whipping cream and grated pecorino romano to the pan. Stir well, evenly coating the other ingredients. Let simmer on medium heat until it starts to thicken. After about 5 minutes, it should come to a nice consistency, but we like ours a little thicker, so I let it simmer for another 3 minutes.

5. Either add angel hair pasta directly to the pan or plate up the pasta and pour the sauce, vegetables, and meat onto the plate.

Enjoy with garlic bread/breadsticks and with a sprinkle of cheese on top.

