November 26

Leftover Thanksgiving Pie

A few years ago, when we were still living in our little apartment, we had out Thanksgiving feast – which was also my first time cooking a turkey by myself – and the leftovers we had were crazy. I totally overestimated how much each of us would, nay could, eat, and tripled the number. Needless to say, we had leftovers for close to a week after that and by that point, there was still turkey leftover and it was time to toss it out. The Fellow™ disagreed with me that it might be bad, and tried to steal pieces here and there to prove so, but I managed to push him out of the kitchen long enough to dump the remnants.

But when the turkey was still 100% good, we got creative with our leftovers. At the time, I was working on a small little blog called The Cheap Chef where I tried to include a photo, the instructions, and how much all the food cost. Most meals were under $5 for the both of us to eat, and I do say, we did pretty well for ourselves. I actually just took a break from writing this entry to peruse through the old entries at the blog, sort of half laughing, half impressed with what I did at the time. We were so friggin’ creative and adventurous then. Now, I’m all about not wasting food on recipes that might not work out. I gotta know our dinner will end up being delicious, filling, mostly healthy, and have some sort of leftovers for lunch the next day. I cannot waste. Plus, these days, I have a job and a dog to tend to and my creativity went out the window the moment those two things combined. I had neither when I had the other blog going. I’m definitely going to have to go back and try some of the recipes we did back then to see if we can improve on them and share with those of you reading!

End of my tangent —

Anyway, this year, we were less crafty with our leftovers. The Fellow™ grabbed a handful of turkey here or there, I chopped some up to put in some soup or something, and then I tried to use a big chunk of it to make this Shepherd’s pie-esque meal. It’s in no way a traditional Shepherd’s pie, but it’s packed with enough holiday comfort food that it feels like one. I literally took every last leftover from the fridge and shoved it in here. Homemade gravy, stuffing, corn, green bean casserole, mashed potatoes… the only thing I didn’t use all of was the turkey. There was just too much of that. One thing I wish I had had more of was French’s onions to sprinkle on the inside and on top, but our green bean casserole from Thanksgiving required every last bit. Well, every last bit that I didn’t eat straight out of the can. Those things are like crack!

The nice thing about this recipe is that it’s very versatile. You don’t have to use turkey, you don’t have to include corn, you can add extra this and that, or pack it full of cheese, instead of putting some on top. Whatever you choose to do, it’s going to come out fantastic. Just make sure you’ve got some sort of ooey gooey liquid on the inside to bind the other ingredients to a certain extent.

Delicious Thanksgiving mush.

Leftover Thanksgiving Pie

source: me

Ingredients

turkey, cubed
green bean casserole
mashed potatoes
corn
gravy
stuffing
French’s fried onions (optional)
shredded cheese (optional)

Directions

1) It’s as easy as mixing all the ingredients except for the mashed potatoes together. A little milk or cream can be added if the mixture is too dry. Spread evenly in a pie plate, about 1/4″ from the top. Cover entire mixture with mashed potatoes. Sprinkle with cheese or French’s fried onions, if desired.

2. Place in oven at 350° and cook until the mashed potatoes are starting to brown around the edges, about 20-25 minutes.

