November 23

S.O.S.

No, no, I’m not calling out for help. This isn’t some collection of Morse dahs and dits. This is S.O.S. as in soup or sauce. Far more tasty and more relevant to my blog than a distress signal.

Some time ago, I found this wonderful blog called One Good Thing by Jillee and my first thought was “awesome!” and my second thought was “MUST TRY EVERYTHING”. I spent a lot of time reading through posts that pertained to my interests. I mean, I’m honestly not interested in making my own laundry detergent (I don’t pay much for mine and I like what it does and it works great for my HE washer), I don’t use make up, and I don’t own a dishwasher, garbage disposal, or stainless steel appliances. Which is not to say that none of these posts are useful. They are! But they’re not ones I read up on. Instead, one that caught my eye was called the Soup or Sauce [S.O.S.] Mix and I was intrigued just from the title.

After doing more reading, I found that this was a substitute for condensed cream of [whatever] soups used in casseroles, skillet meals, and a myriad of other recipes that require a cream base. They come in just about any flavor, which makes the product versatile, and for the most part, they’re not too expensive per can if you’re willing to buy off-brand. The other thing that’s great about the homemade version is that it’s gluten free and fat free.

I figured I’d give it a try. The 4 ingredients necessary to make the S.O.S. mix were all things I could buy in bulk at WinCo on my way home and what’s the worst that could happen?

The first time I used it, it was for a base for my Hungarian Stew recipe when we were going over to The Fellow’s™ cousin’s house for dinner. The instructions per Jillee’s site said to warm it on the stove until it had thickened, however, I didn’t have the time in the morning (when I forgot I was bringing dinner that night…) so I whisked it all together, threw it in as a watery consistency and hoped for the best. What I came home to was quite delicious and I was pretty happy with the results of our dinner.

The next time I used it, I did it the right way. Green bean casserole requires a can of the cream of chicken (or cream of mushroom) soup and this was part of our Thanksgiving spread. I was doing pretty much everything else from scratch, so why not try the substitute here? Let me say, what turned out was so good. I gave it a taste straight from the warm pot – which I would never do straight from a can – and was happy to find the taste extremely reminiscent of what plops out of the Campbell’s or off-brand can, and was even happier with the casserole’s results. My guys loved it. In fact, I’m finding it hard to resist right now. Leftover green bean casserole should not be okay for a breakfast item!

Anyway, this recipe will totally save me money, as one batch of it yields 9 cans’ worth of soup or sauce. It takes a little more effort to put together, but it’s worth it!

Soup or Sauce [S.O.S.] Mix

source: One Good Thing by Jillee [S.O.S. Mix]

Ingredients

2 cups powdered non-fat dry milk
3/4 cup cornstarch
1/4 cup instant chicken bouillon
2 Tablespoons dried onion flakes

Directions

1) Mix all the dry ingredients together in either a Ziploc bag or an air-tight storage container. Shake well and set aside until needed.

2) To mix, add 3/4 cup dry mix to 1 1/4 cup water. Whisk together in a small pot over medium heat. It is ready to use when it has thickened.

SOS

