November 19

Migas

Corn tortillas at the three different stages in the cutting process.

My momma, being Mexican, has brought many delicious meals into our household over the years, that I either have to thank her for or hate her for because it’s probably part of the reason I’m fat. No, I’m kidding. I could never hate my mom. But, my love of food skyrocketed after some of the most tantalizing food she has spoiled us with. Nachos, with everything from scratch including the taco chips? Oh sweet baby jesus… Tamales? Migas? I’m drooling here, and I just had a filling lunch!

You’re probably asking yourself “what on Earth is migas?”

It is a traditional Spanish dish made up of leftover bread. It’s something commonly seen in Spain and Mexico, and I’m sure other parts of Latin America and South America have their own versions. There’s a Spanish, a Portuguese, and a Tex-Mex style that make up the majority of variety out there, however, mom’s is a little different even still. And because it’s mom’s dish, nothing will ever come close, but some of the other versions are super tempting to try.

The nice thing about this dish is that the ingredients are flexible. My mom makes it with corn tortillas, eggs, and ham. Mine is usually comprised of whatever I have on hand.

A bit redundant, but best when served with a side of taco chips.

Migas

source: family recipe

Ingredients

4 large eggs
8 corn tortillas
2 Tablespoons vegetable oil
salt
pepper
garlic powder
cayenne powder

Directions

1) Cut tortilla into tiny pieces, about 1/4″ square.

2) In a large skillet, heat oil on medium. Test the oil by tossing a single piece of tortilla in. If it sizzles immediately, it is ready. Place the tortilla pieces in the skillet and saturate in the oil as much as possible. Fry until golden and crisp.

3) Add eggs to the skillet of tortillas and sausage with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and cayenne powder, to taste. Scramble eggs.

Other ingredients that can be added include:  ham, sausage, bacon, green onions, white or red onions, jalapenos, green chiles, mushrooms, cheese, potatoes… the options are limitless!

