November 03

Cauliflower Breadsticks

I’m not lying when I say this recipe both terrified and excited me. I had found it via Pinterest some time ago, pinned it, and kept running across it time and time again. I wanted to make it. My curiosity needed to know whether it was actually good. I finally took the plunge during one shopping spree and bought a head of cauliflower and knew it would make a great side dish to the pasta I planned on making over the weekend.

For my birthday this year, The Fellow™ got me a $100 gift card to Amazon and one of the things I purchased was a pizza stone. The Lodge Pro Cast Iron 14″ Pizza Pan, to be more precise. I haven’t used it more than a few times, but not because it doesn’t work or anything of that sort. I’ve just only made pizza/bread a few times since early September and haven’t needed to use it for anything else. This recipe was another perfect opportunity to use the pizza pan. It seriously is such a great tool and I love that its upkeep is low maintenance. A quick wipe down, a bit of oil, and bam it’s ready for another use.

Just don’t do what I did and leave it in the oven long after it has cooled off, and the next time you turn on the oven to cook something that does not require the pizza pan, have to then remove a 450°+ cast iron pan.

After completely stinking up the house with the smell of steamed cauliflower (seriously, it’s awful), and having the stench linger at the front of the house where our computers, couch, t.v., etc., are, this was a huge success of a recipe. The first taste of them was a bit weird. You could definitely taste the cauliflower. But just a few more bites yielded this delicious cheesy, garlic food item that felt like we were eating actual thin breadsticks. It tasted just like bread would. I couldn’t believe it. Mind = blown.

Cheesy Garlic Cauliflower Breadsticks

source: Eat. Drink. Smile. [Cauliflower Crust Pizza]
source: Mom, What’s For Dinner? [Cheesy Garlic Cauliflower Bread Sticks]

Ingredients

1 cup cooked, riced cauliflower
1/2 cup shredded Mozzarella
1/2 cup grated Parmesan
1 egg, beaten
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon crushed garlic
1/2 teaspoon garlic salt
olive oil

Topping

2 Tablespoons salted butter, softened
2 cloves garlic, finely minced
1/4 cup grated Parmesan
1/4 cup shredded Mozzarella

Directions

1) Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
2) Chop the cauliflower florets into chunks and steam them in a steamer or on the stove until slightly soft for 15 minutes. Place in a ricer or grate.
3) Prepare your baking stone or sheet by spreading a small amount of olive oil on it and top with parchment paper.
4) In a medium bowl, stir together 1 cup cauliflower, egg, Parmesan and Mozzarella. Add oregano, crushed garlic and garlic salt, stir.
5) Transfer to the baking stone or sheet, and using your hands, pat out into a large rectangle.
6) Bake for 15 minutes. Remove from oven.
7) Mix softened butter and garlic in a small bowl and spread over the baked cauliflower bread and top with Parmesan and Mozzarella. Return to oven and bake for another 15-20 minutes until the cheese is melted and the edges are crisp.
