October 02

Slow Cooker Ham & White Beans

Ever since purchasing my new handy dandy timer crock pot, I’ve been trying to be a bit more adventurous about things. Not so much in the trying new foods realm, but rather, trying to slow cook things I haven’t slow cooked before. This time around, it’s dry beans.

Over time, I’ve accrued recipes for all sorts of dry bean related dishes, but never got around to make them. Don’t ask why. I couldn’t tell you, well, beyond laziness. I have random bags of dried beans in the cupboard. Some intended for my own refried beans, some intended for soups, others for who knows what. When I found this recipe, I knew it was something I could throw together in the morning before work, with what limited time I already have to squeeze the morning routine of bathroom, teeth brushing, dog pampering, and dressing.

On top of this incredibly simple recipe, I was being given a chance to finally try out my new crock pot liners made by Reynolds; something I had been wanting (whether they existed or not) for a looooong time. I doubt anyone truly enjoys washing the dishes, but washing large ceramic base crock pots is my absolute least favorite chore. Not to mention the ceramic manages to retain the smell of whatever has been cooking, no matter how hard you scrub.

I wondered about the stewing food all day. Was there enough water? Would the ham dry out if any of it managed to float to the top? Does ham float? Did I put enough seasoning in it? Was the liner going to burst in to flames and raze the house to the ground?

Lucky for me, everything turned out perfect, and clean up was a fantastic breeze thanks to the liners. The dinner was delicious and there were enough leftovers for several days after. I didn’t get a chance to freeze any leftovers to see how that turns out, but I imagine it would do just fine.

Slow Cooker Ham & White Beans

source: Plain Chicken [Slow Cooker Ham & White Beans]

Ingredients

1 pound package dried northern beans
1 pound sliced peppered ham
2 teaspoons onion powder
6 cups water
salt & pepper to taste

Directions

1) Rinse and sort the beans for any pebbles.

2) Add the the rinsed beans, onion powder, salt, pepper, and ham to the crock pot. Add water.

3) Cover and cook on low about 8 hours, until beans are tender.

4) Shred the meat in the crock pot and mix. Serve with cornbread.

