September 20

Chicken Sausage & Potatoes

I have a confession to make. Please don’t think any less of me (like you thought anything about me before!).

I buy some of my meat at Walmart.

There, I said it.

What? You don’t care? Oh good. Because I can’t afford to go to the whole foods market and get not-crappy beef and pork. Well, not all the time. Sometimes I enjoy splurging. I can definitely taste a difference when it comes to beef. I’ve been trying to cycle beef out of our diet ever so slowly, but having it once in a blue moon won’t kill us. Not that we were eating it daily or anything. It’s just getting expensive. Hence buying it at Walmart. I’m saddened by the fact that we have an affordable butcher down the road from us (and by down the road I mean down the hill one mile, and then another two miles or so after the ugly roundabout), but I can never catch them when they’re open – considering my work schedule. Now with me having Fridays off from work, maybe I can take advantage of them for my beef needs.

But this is not a post about beef. No sirs/maams. The reason I got on topic was because of my confession. I buy meat at Walmart. This also includes kielbasa, or other sausages, and sometimes ground turkey, since they’re all name brand (Johnsonville, Jennie-O, etc) I don’t feel bad about that. Hell, I’m saving money when I buy them at Walmart! If I can get cheap kielbasa down at the Sav-On (which I usually can), you better believe I’m shopping there if I’m in the area. Anyway, quite a few trips ago, I picked up a whole bunch of sausages. Chicken and spinach with mozzarella, andouille, buffalo style chicken… All of them went into the freezer immediately – knowing that I wouldn’t be using them right away – and almost immediately, I forgot we had them.

Cut to me figuring out dinner. What can we have that we’ve not had before or have not had in ages? Meat and potatoes. Plain and simple. There’s nothing more filling than this. Well, things with lots of fiber, but eating sausage and potatoes is way more fun ;)

Before coming to this conclusion, I searched high and low for recipes and found something over at MarthaStewart.com. Same idea, just a couple different ingredients. No biggie.

Chicken Sausage & Potatoes

Source: Martha Stewart [Roasted Chicken Sausage & Potatoes]

Ingredients

5 buffalo style chicken sausages
5 medium Russet potatoes, cut into 8 pieces per potato
salt
pepper
rosemary
olive oil

Directions

1) Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Pierce sausage all over with a fork; place on a rimmed baking sheet with potatoes. Drizzle olive oil over everything; season generously with pepper, salt, and rosemary. Toss to coat, and spread in an even layer.

2) Roast, tossing occasionally, until sausage is browned and potatoes are tender, 30 to 35 minutes. If desired, halve sausages crosswise before serving.

