September 19

Pumpkin Spice Donut Muffins

Like every other food blog out there, this time of the year seems to be a favorite because autumn is in the air and pumpkin is cheap and plentiful. Personally, I can’t wait to get things going at top speed and incorporating it into everything. Well, not everything. Sometimes I like my plain pasta and butter sauce and it doesn’t need pumpkin anywhere near it! Nothing beats pumpkin with a sprinkle of cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg for good measure. It’s good for what ails ‘ya, and it’s just downright delicious. No two ways about it.

If someone begs to differ, they obviously have no soul.

I joke.

Mostly.

When these babies popped up on Pinterest, I was excited to give them a try. But what I was most excited about was trying them sans being rolled in cinnamon and sugar. Just on their own they sounded good enough to down by the dozen (even if doctors advise against it for health reasons. Pfft.) Sadly, I was a bit disappointed. They weren’t as good as I had hoped on their own. They’re very doughy tasting. Not necessarily in a bad way, but somehow, in my mind, I imagined this warm, soft fresh baked cinnamon-pumpkin muffin thing. Not at all the end result.

So a little Land O Lake cinnamon butter and a bit of white sugar later, the finished product was perfect. What I really like in desserts is that they’re sweet enough for my taste (and believe me, I don’t do ‘really sweet’) so I won’t want to eat a whole bunch. One or two and I’m done. Or at least I want to be. This is exactly what these ended up being. So yay for that.

Pumpkin Spice Donut Muffins

Source: Tasty Kitchen [Pumpkin Spice Donut Muffins] (original recipe)
Source: Just The Little Things [Pumpkin Poppers] (used this one)

Ingredients

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon allspice
1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 cup pumpkin
1/2 cup milk

1 stick unsalted butter, melted
2/3 cup sugar
2 Tablespoons cinnamon

Directions

1) Preheat oven to 350 F and spray mini muffin tins with non-stick cooking spray.

2) Combine flour, baking powder, salt, and spices in a bowl and whisk until combine.

3) In another bowl, mix oil, brown sugar, egg, vanilla, pumpkin, and milk.  Pour in flour mixture and mix until just combined.  Fill mini muffin tins until almost full and bake 10-12 minutes.

4) Melt butter in small bowl.  Mix sugar and cinnamon in a separate small bowl.  After popper cool for a few minutes, dip them in the butter and roll them in the sugar mixture.

