September 18

Herb Crusted Pork Chops & Parmesan Baked Potato

Pork isn’t something we have in the house all that often. Not because we don’t like it, or it doesn’t like us, or because it’s expensive like beef, or any real reason other than we just don’t. We used to stock up like crazy at Costco years ago, but truth be told, I’m the one that gets stuck portioning out the meats, cheese, and other various goods we buy when we go bulk shopping, so I stopped buying bulk pork because my poor little hands would be so cold and numb and whine whine whine. That wasn’t the only reason we stopped, but you get the picture.

Baked potatoes are something we don’t eat all that often either. I’m not entirely sure why on that one. They’re easy, they’re delicious, and they’re versatile with their toppings. I love me a baked potato gobbed up with cheese and bacon and sour cream and oh I think I might have drooled on my message-taking tablet at work just now. Seeing as how I’m trying to get back on my healthier diet bandwagon, however, massive amounts of artery clogging food topped on a super carb-y side dish wasn’t in the books. In fact, I realized I didn’t even have most of the ingredients that would make the best loaded baked potato. Probably a good thing.

Anyway, in regards to the pork chops, I had bought a pack at the store that would yield 3 1/2 pieces a meal for 4 meals (14 boneless chops for a whopping $9.50) and I knew that wouldn’t be enough food to feed the both of us. Plus, a pork chop with nothing else to eat? I mean, I could have done more than 3 1/2, but I wanted even amounts for future meals. Now having made the potatoes to go with this dish, I think we’ll be having pork chops (possibly these again) with baked potatoes. Actually, truth be told, the potatoes sort of outshined the pork chops – but that’s not to say the pork chops were bad! The potatoes were really just that good.

I could blather on for hours about delicious potato meals, or how I hated baked potatoes as a kid because the skin of a Russet was creepy, so I’d hollow them out and leave 1/4″ of potato attached to the skin since any closer might mean I’d have to eat potato ‘meat’ that touched the outside. Yeah. Weirdo kid. You don’t have to tell me twice. Or maybe you do, to remind me of how much I’ve grown since my childhood (and I’m not just talking about wide-wise ^_^)

Herb Crusted Pork Chops & Parmesan Baked Potato

Source: Eat Yourself Skinny [Herb Crusted Pork Chops]

Ingredients

4 boneless pork chops, fat trimmed
2 Tablespoons Dijon mustard
1/2 cup whole wheat Panko breadcrumbs
1 Tablespoon fresh thyme, chopped
1 Tablespoon fresh parsley, minced
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 Tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil

Directions

1) Preheat oven to 450°.  Rub mustard evenly over pork chops.  Combine panko, thyme, parsley, salt and pepper in a large bowl and dredge pork chops in panko mixture.

2) Heat a large ovenproof skillet over medium-high heat.  Add oil to pan and swirl to coat.  Add pork chops, saute for 2 minutes or until golden brown.  Turn pork over and place skillet in oven for about 8 minutes or until pork reaches 145 degrees in the center.  Enjoy!
As a note, I added rosemary to this recipe and used horseradish mustard because it was the only type of mustard we had. I also am dumb and don’t know which of my skillets are ovenproof (and don’t want to find out the hard way) and refuse to use my cast iron on my glass top, so I improvised with a cold casserole dish and while the top part was crunchy and delicious, the bottom was a bit mush, but still flavorful.

