September 16

‘Skinny’ Chicken Enchiladas

As I start this entry, the first thing that comes into my mind is “If it’s healthy, it doesn’t belong around Mexican food” or rather, “Mexican + healthy = no bueno”. Quite literally.

I was hopeful for this recipe. I think the blogger has her head on straight and has some other great sounding recipes, but skinny enchiladas? I don’t know. I was hesitant at first. I read her ingredients and though, “Oh wow! Those are all things I have in my fridge/cabinets and I can totally make us an indulgent, albeit healthy meal on Saturday!” Except that’s not exactly what we got.

The Fellow™, bless his big heart, said he liked them. I always ask, “How is it?” He never says bad. He might say, “Salty”, “Hot”, or “Interesting”, but that is the extent of his negative words when it comes to my cooking. But this one… he didn’t even go back for seconds. Maybe he doesn’t care for enchiladas much. Maybe he thought the recipe was as much of a crapshoot as I did, but was hungry enough that he needed to wolf it down. Maybe he actually did like it and I’m just projecting my thoughts on to him. The world may never know.

I’m not sure what it was about this recipe. It’s not like it’s asking much of the audience as far as healthy substitutions go. Not by any means. In fact, aside from the Mrs. Dash Southwest Chipotle seasoning, the ingredients are all things I use on a regular basis. Something about the recipe lacked the oomph a real enchilada possessed. Everyone makes an enchilada dish differently, but the lack of corn, whipping cream, actual canned enchilada sauce, beans, and sour cream really makes the Mexican dish come alive. I felt like the skinny version died right out of the gate.

I actually pulled a can of sweet corn out of the cupboard with intentions of incorporating it into the recipe, since the filling called for only chicken, onions, garlic, and cilantro – which I would not be using – but I completely biffed that one and still had the unopened can sitting on the counter by the type clean up was over. I honestly think corn would have added so much flavor and depth to this dish. I feel like I know my way around the kitchen and know how to cook some excellent meals (simple as they may be), and after making this particular enchilada, I either feel like I missed some major step, or it really is just sort of a ho-hum recipe.

Which brings me back to my first paragraph:  healthy Mexican food? Pfft. No such thing ;)

Skinny Chicken Enchiladas

Source: Eat Yourself Skinny [Skinny Chicken Enchiladas]

Ingredients

For the sauce
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 can diced green chilis
1-1/2 cups tomato sauce
1 tsp. southwest chipotle seasoning (Mrs. Dash)
1/2 tsp. ground cumin
3/4 cup fat-free chicken broth
Salt and fresh pepper to taste

For the chicken
1 tsp. vegetable oil
2 chicken breasts, cooked and shredded
1 cup diced onion
2 cloves of garlic, minced

 

1/4 cup fresh cilantro

 

Salt
1 tsp. cumin
1/2 tsp. dried oregano
1 tsp. southwest chipotle seasoning (Mrs. Dash)
1/3 cup chicken broth
1/2 cup tomato sauce
8 (6-inch) reduced carb whole wheat flour tortillas
1 cup shredded low-fat Mexican cheese
olive oil cooking spray

Directions

1) In a medium saucepan, spray oil and saute garlic.  Add green chilis, chipotle seasoning, cumin, chicken broth, tomato sauce, salt and pepper.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce the heat to low and simmer for 5-10 minutes.  Set aside until ready to use.

2) Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
3) Heat the vegetable oil in a medium skillet over medium-high heat.  Saute onions and garlic on low until soft, about 2 minutes.  Add chicken, salt, cilantro, cumin, oregano, chipotle seasoning, tomato sauce, chicken broth, and cook 4 to 5 minutes.  Remove from heat.
4) Spray a 13 by 9-inch glass baking dish with non-stick spray.  Put 1/3 cup chicken mixture into each tortilla and roll it.  Place in baking dish seam side down.  Top with sauce and cheese.  Cover with foil and bake in the oven on the middle rack for 20-25 minutes.  Top with scallions if desired and enjoy!
