September 04

Dissecting a Butternut Squash

If you’re like me, you buy your butternut squash previously cut up. Or maybe you’re not like me. Maybe you grow your own butternut squash (or other types of squash) and therefore have to cut it up yourself. If that’s the case, this post isn’t for you. Well, you can read it, if you like, but it’ll be a waste of your (probably) precious time since you will already know this information.

However, for someone like me, who buys pre-cubed squash for an added cost, this was good information for me to know, and for me to pass on to you (or whoever needs it), because I wasn’t sure of the right way to do it. Let’s be honest – I was kind of dumb and didn’t realize there were seeds on the inside. Zucchini squash – NO SEEDS. Therefore, all squashes have no seeds, right? You see, this is my brain’s logic. Wrong, wrong, WRONG ;)

So please find below, a quickie tutorial on how to properly cut up a butternut squash (or ‘squish’ as one friend calls them).

Lay your squish on its side and hack off the top and bottom portions; enough to remove the stem and to get the bottom as flat as possible so the squish can sit up on its own.

I hear Y-peelers are much better for peeling a squish, but I hate Y-peelers, as they tend to peel MY FINGERS before they peel the intended fruit or vegetable. So use whichever style of peeler you have. As you can (sort of) see, I’m using my handy little swivel blade type (which is standard) and this was a pain. Check out my crap peel job! A knife is handy to have in the event you cannot get to a particular spot with the peeler. The contour of a butternut squish is surprisingly sneaky and proved to be a bit of a pain.

Cut the squish from top to bottom on one side.

Once cut, your two halves will look like this. Time to hull them out!

Dig a bit of a trench with your spoon at the edges of the seed cluster and dig dig dig! Get all those seeds out and scrape its guts out. Scrape it so good that it’s smooth as a baby’s bottom in the nook.

Once your baby bottom insides are clean, halve the long pieces. You should end up with 8 individual pieces.

Cut into long strips. I found that each of the 8 sections yielded 6 long strips that are the perfect size. Not too thin, not too thick; all pretty uniform.

Cut those long strips in the opposite direction to make that desired cube shape. Some of the pieces are going to end up needing a second cut so they’re not excessively large.

And voila! You’re finished. That wasn’t so hard, right? It’s not even very time consuming! I’m sure stores tack on an extra dollar or two for pre-cut squash, so this saves you the money (which adds up if you buy pre-cut fruits and vegetables often), and it’s one more thing you can store in your brain bank for the future.

