August 25

French Toast Maple Bacon Cupcakes

Yes. They’re as good as they sound. Even better, actually.

  I’ll be honest, though. This isn’t something I would normally make. If I ran across a recipe like this in my every day perusing, I’d think, “Oh wow, that sounds awesome!” and move on. Maybe I’d bookmark it, or in today’s time, Pin it on my Pinterest “Food to Tackle” board, and never make it. But this was a special occasion, as The Fellow’s™ cousin and his wife were putting on the third annual Baconanza. Yes. Baconanza. All things bacon. No vegetarians or vegans allowed. The first year this celebration was had, I was stuck at home with a neurotic, separation anxiety-filled dog that I was not willing to leave so he could howl his head off for the neighbors in the apartment complex. The second year, I can’t quite remember why I didn’t go. Seems like I was wiped from work, or didn’t feel social, or something in the vein of we were still moving and unpacking into our newly purchased house and I couldn’t bear to leave the dog alone in a new hardwood floor home for fear he’d soil himself from his anxiety. I don’t even know. I’m sure it was a typical Kasey excuse.

Anyway, so I went on a hunt. I knew The Fellow™ would be making kebabs, as he had for the first and second year, and I wanted to do something that was “me”. I love baking. I excel at baking. I don’t know everything there is to know about baking, but what I do know and my ability to create in the kitchen makes me pretty awesome, I think. Other people tend to agree. I’ve yet to come across someone who didn’t like what I whipped up. But enough of tooting my own horn. I need not digress on the matter. Not right now at least.

One thing the recipe called for was cake flour, which I do not own. I figured after a pop in to the vet and the bark park for my little man, I’d swing into Albertson’s and buy a $3.99 32 ounce box of the stuff. It would probably last me awhile. And it better, for that price. Well, color me ticked off when I stopped into WinCo and found cake flour in the bulk section for 42¢ a pound. -_- Good to know for the future.

So, I’m throwing the ingredients together in my KitchenAid mixer when I realize… the recipe is for 12 cupcakes. There’s going to be minimum 20 people there (there were 30+ people RSVP’d on the Facebook page for it). What to do? MINI CUPCAKES. Thank goodness for mini cupcake pans. The recipe then yielding 48 mini cupcakes and the frosting was enough to do up all 48 as well. I was so excited to buy bigger tips for frosting the case, but dum-dum that I am didn’t buy a bigger coupler, so little tips it had to be :(

In the end, the cupcakes were a hit. People were eating them first. People were bursting out the back door looking for “the cupcake lady” to tell me just how fantastic they were. Even though it’s by no means my recipe, I was glowing. Part of that might also be because I got stuck grilling The Fellow’s™ kebabs for 2 hours, so I was a bit overheated. But let’s pretend it was all the cupcakes’ doing :)

French Toast Maple Bacon Cupcakes

Source:  Mama B’s Blog [French Toast and Bacon Cupcakes]

Ingredients

French Toast Cupcakes:
3/4 cup butter, softened
1 cup sugar
1 1/2 cups cake flour, sifted
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup milk, at room temperature
1 teaspoon nutmeg
1 teaspoon cinnamon
3 eggs

Maple Buttercream Frosting:
2 sticks butter, softened
2 3/4 cups powdered sugar
2 teaspoons heavy cream, at room temperature
1 teaspoon maple extract

Directions

1) Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line muffin tray with baking cups.

2) Fry (or bake) up some crispy bacon and set aside. (I baked mine)

3) In a standing mixer, combine the butter and sugar and mix.

4) In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, nutmeg, and cinnamon. Set aside.

5) Add the eggs to the creamed butter one at time, waiting for each one to be fully incorporated before adding the next. Then add the milk.*

6) Divide the batter evenly in the muffin tin/baking cups. Bake for 25-27 minutes. (16 minutes if making mini cupcakes)

7) Remove the cupcakes from the oven and cool completely.

8) For the frosting: Mix all 4 ingredients together. Beat on high speed until fluffy.

9) Frost your cupcakes and cover them with crispy bacon pieces.

*The original recipe makes no mention of when to add the flour mixture. Taking a cue from other cupcake and cake recipes, I alternated adding the flour mixture and milk. Three parts flour, two parts milk: f/m/f/m/f, beating in each until they’re fully incorporated

