August 11

Taco Seasoning

I’m a very lazy person most days.

This is a true statement.

To prove the validity of it, I give you this situation:

For a long time, I have wanted to make my own taco seasoning. I would much rather use my own mixture of spices at home than spend upwards of $1 a packet. I’ve looked at different recipes before for a combination of spices that make a traditional type of seasoning or even a kicked up balls-out spicy or sweet or whatever other flavor you want. The only reason I never got around to making a real one (versus just throwing salt, pepper, paprika, and garlic powder on some chicken while it’s cooking) is because I didn’t have cumin or onion powder.

Yes. I didn’t have those two items nor did I want to buy them.

They cost me all of $4.99 for both of them last night. And the mix is already made.

Now the question is:  will it be any good? It’s supposed to be one of the best, short of buying McCormick’s or Lawry’s, but these will be a bit healthier, since there’s no chemically goodness, preservatives, not as much sodium, carbs, calories, and sugar.

Taco Seasoning

Source:  Allrecipes.com [Taco Seasoning]

Ingredients

1 tablespoon chili powder
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon onion powder
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon paprika
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
1 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoon black pepper

Directions

Mix everything together, shake up, and keep in an airtight container.

