August 09

Blackberry Buckle

I love the show King of the Hill. I’m very sad they ended the series, even if the latter episodes weren’t as good as earlier ones. In my opinion, it was one of the better shows out there for a long time. Why am I mentioning this? I was watching the episode where Randy Travis supposedly stole Peggy’s song about growing up in Montana with her big ‘ol feet and called it his own while performing at Fan Fair. “Apple brown Betty” kept getting mentioned, as it is often referenced throughout the series. The Fellow™ – not really watching but mostly listening – asked what the hell an apple brown Betty was anyway. I told him I wasn’t quite sure, though I had a feeling it had something to do with brown sugar.

Well, me and my fading short term memory completely forgot to look up what it was. Until now, when I was trying to find a better description of a buckle instead of this awesome cakey yummy fruity dessert that smells like buttery cinnamony deliciousness, and the page I ran across cleared up the confusion on what a Betty, buckle, Grunt, Pandowdy, and other baked fruit-related goods were. Thanks, About.com!

So, anyway, this blackberry buckle is the product of spending an hour in the yard picking the ripe berries off our enormous thicket then deciding what exactly to do with the fresh purple-black nibblies. Pinterest has really become my new best friend when it comes to food. In fact, dinner was a sort of failed attempt at mac & cheese in a mug in the microwave. I was stingy with the cheese and boy, did it end up lackluster. Made more of a mess than it was worth. Oh well. Damn tangents. When I have random ingredients, Pinterest has helped me to find inspiration and has led me to quite a few pretty excellent blogs. This time was no exception.

Blackberry Buckle

Source:  The Southern Lady Cooks [Blackberry Buckle]

Ingredients

3/4 cup white granulated sugar
1/2 cup white granulated sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 2/3 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
2/3 cup fat free/skim milk
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 1/2 cups blackberries

Topping:
1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup white granulated sugar
1/4 cup white granulated sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon cinnamon

Directions

1) Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

2) Cream butter, eggs, and sugars together. Add the flour, milk, vanilla, and salt until the mixture is smooth.

3) Spray a 9″x13″ baking dish or cake pan. Spread mixture on bottom of pan evenly. Add blackberries in a light layer on top of batter.

4) Mix together the topping sugars, flour, and cinnamon. Sprinkle on top of blackberries and cake batter. Cut the remaining 1/2 cup of butter into thin pats and spread across the top.

5) Bake for 40-45 minutes until the top is golden brown.

