July 30

Nutter Butter Ice Cream

I will be the first to admit that I cannot resist homemade ice cream. I do not particularly care for the initial cooking of ingredients and having to wait for the base to chill for so long, knowing I have a delectable recipe in store. That waiting is the hardest.

I will also be the first to admit that I constantly use the same vanilla base recipe from Love and Olive Oil because it is just that damn good. The one I use is for her eggless cookie dough ice cream, sans the cookie dough. I have made the recipe for the cookie dough numerous times, with all intentions of putting it into an ice cream, but the inevitable happens and we either eat the dough by itself or make cookies out of it. In fact, I believe I wrote up a post for creme de menthe chocolate chip cookies using the eggless dough recipe. Pretty sure of it, actually. And to be honest, I am too lazy to check. ;)

So the other day, in getting into a discussion about my KitchenAid’s ice cream bowl with an acquaintance, it reminded me that I have yet to make any ice cream this year. Then upon arriving home, The Fellow™ commented on how he wishes “we” would make ice cream again. “We” of course meaning me since he has never made any before. I picked up all the ingredients I needed (and somehow overlooked the fact that someone *cough*The Fellow™*cough* used the last of my vanilla beans for their liqueur) and got to cooking.

I have made pumpkin pie and apple pie, rich vanilla bean, and chocolate covered pretzel bites ice cream in the past; this time, I had to take my love of all things peanut butter into deep, deep consideration. Nutter Butters, anyone? The snack sack size is the perfect amount to load up a quart of ice cream. That is, if you love Nutter Butters as much as we do (read:  Nutter Butter fritters are something that exists as a dessert at one of our favorite breweries in Bremerton and despite always being full of their awesome dinner items, we have to, have to order the cookie fritters), you will find that the snack sack size may not be enough. If you are health conscious, you should not be eating ice cream. But if you are adventurous, I dare you to not use the entire bag.

Anyway, on to the picture and recipe. If I talk about this any longer, I will go eat some straight out of the freezer container and I have already brushed my teeth for the night.

Nutter Butter Ice Cream

Ingredients

1 cup whole milk
2 cups heavy cream
1 vanilla bean, split and seeded
1 Tablespoon vanilla extract
A pinch of salt
3/4 cup brown sugar
4 large egg yolks
1 snack sack size Nutter Butter cookies, some crushed, some whole

Directions

1) Warm the milk, sugar, 1 cup of cream, vanilla bean and seeds vanilla extract, and salt in a medium saucepan. Mixture should be warm and steaming but not boiling. Cover, remove from the heat, and let steep at room temperature for 30 minutes.

2) Pour the remaining 1 cup of cream into a medium size metal bowl, set on ice over a larger bowl*. Set a mesh strainer on top of the bowls. Set aside. Return milk mixture to burner, and heat until just barely steaming.

3) In a separate medium bowl, whisk together the egg yolks. Slowly spoon 1/3 of the warm milk mixture into the egg yolks, whisking constantly so that the egg yolks are tempered by the warm milk, but not cooked by it. Scrape the warmed egg yolks back into the saucepan and whisk to incorporate with the rest of the milk mixture.

4) Stir over medium heat with a heatproof spatula, scraping the bottom as you stir, until the mixture thickens and coats the spatula, about 10 minutes. Pour the custard through the strainer, pressing out and solids, and stir it into the cream. Return strained vanilla bean to custard. Stir until cool.

5) Cover and chill the mixture thoroughly in the refrigerator (at least 3-4 hours, overnight is better).

6) Freeze thoroughly chilled custard (remove vanilla bean prior to freezing) in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions until it is the consistency of soft serve. Stir in cookies before transferring to a freezer-safe container. Freeze until firm.

*I have never put my extra cup of cream into an ice bath; mainly because ice is a precious commodity in this house and I never have any to spare. I find that it does not affect the outcome of the ice cream, and therefore, is not absolutely necessary.

