July 29

Creamy Chicken Taquitos

It’s a bit funny to me that downstairs in our basement, we have Delimex beef taquitos waiting to be eaten, but I just went out of my way to make my own taquitos. Granted, you could argue that chicken and beef are two completely different meats and homemade creamy chicken ones are far superior than mass-manufactured beef ones. I would be inclined to agree.

Part of my problem when it comes to freezer meal making is that I never make enough. I have a hard time remembering to double, triple, or quadruple a recipe. This time around is no exception, as I have a whole 15-20 taquitos cooling in the kitchen and we’ll kill those off in one and a half sittings… that is, assuming The Fellow™ doesn’t find them while I’m out. Otherwise, I just made him a fancy lunch.

I’ve made flautas in the past, which, let’s face it, is exactly the same thing as a taquito, just with a different wrapping (flour tortilla for a flauta and corn for a taquito). The flautas I made were fried, whereas these are oven baked and deliciously crispy. Anymore, I’m finding that I prefer baked foods more than fried, and this one is a price example of why. You’ll have to make them yourself to find out why.

Creamy Chicken Taquitos

Source:  Our Best Bites [Creamy Chicken Taquitos]

Ingredients

3 ounces cream cheese
1/4 cup green salsa
1 Tablespoon fresh lime juice
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon onion powder
1/4 teaspoon granulated garlic, or garlic powder
3 Tablespoons chopped cilantro
2 Tablespoons sliced green onions
2 cups shredded cooked chicken
1 cup grated pepperjack cheese Monterey jack-cheddar cheese mix
15-20 small corn tortillas
kosher salt

Directions

1) Heat oven to 425. Line a baking sheet with foil and lightly coat with cooking spray.

2) Heat cream cheese in the microwave for about 20-30 seconds so it’s soft and easy to stir. Add green salsa, lime juice, cumin, chili powder, onion powder and granulated garlic. Stir to combine and then add cilantro and green onions. Add chicken and cheese and combine well.

3) Work with a few tortillas at a time and heat in the microwave until they are soft enough to roll without cracking. It helps to place them between damp paper towels. Usually 20-30 seconds will do it. If you find yours are cracking when you roll them or are coming unrolled right away, just try heating them longer and try the paper towel thing. I worked in front of my microwave and heated 5 tortillas at a time, leaving them in the warm microwave and only taking out one at a time. Worked like a charm.

4) Place 2-3 Tablespoons of chicken mixture on the lower third of a tortilla, keeping it about 1/2 inch from the edges.

5) Roll the tortillas up as tight as you can. Place on the baking sheet, making sure the tortillas are not touching each other.

6) Lightly cover the tops of the taquitos with cooking spray, or brush on a little olive oil. Sprinkle with kosher salt.

7) Bake in the oven for 20-25 minutes or until they become crisp and the ends start to brown.

