July 20

Spicy Farfalle & Cheese

I think it’s really weird when I hear that people don’t like macaroni and cheese. And not for reasons like they ate it too much as a kid. We all have things that were forced upon us for various reasons when we were younger that we prefer not to eat these days. But mac and cheese? Come on! Pure comfort food. That is, if you’re not lactose intolerant. Don’t even try to convince me that fake mac and cheese is good. I won’t have that here in my blog. Cheese is only cheese when it’s made with dairy. That’s final! *crosses arms*

Anyway, back to the idea that certain people don’t like mac and cheese. Some people say it’s a texture thing. Others say it’s a flavor thing. Well…

I don’t know what’s wrong with them, but to each their own I suppose?

The Fellow™ and I were in love with Kirkland Signature’s macaroni and cheese. Something about it made it taste so much better than Kraft (or Kraft dinner for you northerners…) or Velveeta or any other brand out there. But I’ve gotten to a point in my life where I’m capable of making a lot of the foods we buy in boxes with all those extra pockets of sodium and preservatives and chemicals that we don’t need. So once our Kirkland stock of mac and cheese ran out, I insisted we no longer replenish it. I could make mac and cheese from (mostly) scratch – because let’s face it, I’m not making the noodles… yet – and it doesn’t take all that long to do so. The taste is divine and I doubt you’ll ever accomplish such a smooth texture with a box brand.

Spicy Farfalle & Cheese

Ingredients

2 cups uncooked pasta
1/2 cup butter
1/4 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 Tablespoon pepper
2 cups milk
1 cup pepper jack
1/2 cup sharp white cheddar
1/4 cup sharp cheddar

Directions

1) Melt butter over low heat. Stir in flour, salt, and pepper. Cook over low heat, stirring occasionally until mixture is smooth and bubbly.

2) Stir in milk. Heat to boiling, stirring constantly. Boil and stir 1 minute. Remove from heat.

3) Stir in cheese until melted.

