July 19

Pesto

Much like my hummus conundrum of wanting it but not having the proper tools – or massive ambition to find other means of squishing beans without a food processor – I was up shit creek without a paddle when I wanted to go smooshy smooshy with some basil leaves and pine nuts and had nothing to actually go smooshy smooshy with. Do you like my big fancy adult words? I blame them on having an extremely exhausting/stressful/deathly day at work and the fact that there is some Simply Lemonade and pomegranate vodka with a splash of tonic water floating around in my system.

No, no, I’m not drunk folks. I’m just pleasantly happy :)

But the pesto. Ah yes, the pesto. There are so many recipes out there. They’re pretty much the same, perhaps some different quantities, some fun little additions, some spice, some sweet, some whatever else you could think of. I wanted traditional. Or as traditional as one could get. I wanted five ingredients:  basil, pine nuts, garlic, parmesan, and olive oil. No more, no less. And this is exactly what I got. Thanks to some quickie searching via Pinterest, I found what I needed and got to work.

Pesto

Source:  She Makes and Bakes [Pesto]

Ingredients

3 garlic cloves, unpeeled
2 cups packed basil leaves
1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
1/4 cup pine nuts, toasted
1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
1/4 teaspoon salt*

Directions

1) Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and toast the pine nuts in a single layer for 5-10 minutes until golden brown and fragrant.

2) Heat a small skillet on medium heat and toast the garlic in the peels for about 7 minutes until fragrant and spotty brown, flipping the garlic often. Let cool before peeling.

3) Peel the garlic cloves, add all the other ingredients to a blender or food processor and mix all the ingredients together till smooth. Store in the refrigerator or freezer.

*I lied! There was a sixth ingredient! Salt!

