July 18

Corn Cakes

Here’s a confession:

Corn excites me.

I don’t know what it is about the food, beyond it being delicious and (mostly) nutritious and fun to cook with, but me and corn have a love-love relationship. I love everything about corn. I love any food with corn (within reason. We’re not talking about corn ice cream here). So in my search for healthy food for my marathon kitchening, this recipe came up and I was all over it; even if it meant doing a little bit of frying, which I am so horrible at until it’s in my Fry Daddy, which these were not.

We had unexpected company over when I started making these and I was secretly hoping that the smells coming from the kitchen would permeate into the living room where they were sharing stories and drinks with The Fellow™ and maybe start some conversation with the kitchen wench. Sadly, this was not the case, but at the same time, I was a busy little beaver getting things done and stopping to talk was not in the books for me. But oh the smells. The basil, the sweet white and yellow corn, even the buttermilk! After the few meals I’ve made on this endeavor, basil has suddenly become my new favorite smell and ingredient. Basil makes the world go round.

Before I continue to talk in circles regarding how awesome corn is and how awesome it tastes, I’ll just leave you with this recipe that I found at the brilliant Ezra Pound Cake blog.

Corn Cakes

Source:  Ezra Pound Cake [Corn Cakes]

Ingredients

3 ears corn, shucked*
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup cornmeal (If you can only find cornmeal mix, skip the baking powder.)
1/4 cup diced red onion
1/4 cup thinly sliced fresh basil
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
2 tablespoons well-shaken buttermilk
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
Canola oil, for frying

Directions

1) Preheat oven to 200 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with a brown paper bag.

2) Cut the corn from the cobs into a large bowl, and scrape the stripped cobs with the back of the knife (or a spoon) to release the juices into the bowl.

3) Place 2 cups of the corn kernels into a food processor, and pulse several times, until the corn is slightly pureed but still chunky. Scrape into the bowl with the remaining corn kernels.

4) Add flour, cornmeal, onion, basil, baking powder, baking soda, salt and pepper to the corn. Stir to mix.

5) Add the eggs, buttermilk and butter, and stir just to combine. (Do not overmix.)

6) Place a large skillet over medium heat. Add just enough canola oil to barely cover the bottom, and heat until sizzling hot.

7) One heaping tablespoon at a time, scoop the batter into the skillet. Cooking in batches of 4 to 5 to avoid overcrowding, fry the cakes 1 to 2 minutes per side, until golden brown.

8) Drain on the lined baking sheet, and place in the oven to keep warm while cooking the remaining corn cakes. Serve warm topped with a heap of Chopped Tomato and Avocado Salsa.

*As a note, I ended up using 2 ears of sweet white corn and 1 15 ounce can of sweet yellow corn in sea salt for the recipe, just to make my ears of corn stretch.

I also did not warm them in the oven while the others cooked, since these needed to cool and go in the freezer, and it also suggests serving with a salsa that I did not make.

