July 18

Barbecue Cheddar Chickpea Burgers

As a kid, I didn’t particularly care for garbanzo beans. Ceci beans, yes. Garbanzo, no. Little did I know, they were the same thing. But having two different names (four actually, if you count ‘chickpea’ and ‘chana’) made me think they were two entirely different beans and no one ever set me straight. Let’s forget the detail of how they looked exactly the same, tasted exactly the same, smelled the same… the very fact that “garbanzo” was a word I didn’t like the sound of when said and “ceci” was much easier (and almost fun) to say made all the difference of liking one and not the other. Kid logic, go figure.

Once maturing into the upstanding adult that I am today (ha), I’ve rekindled a love for the ceci bean that I once liked well enough as a kid. I love me some hummus. I’ve often wanted to make hummus. Seeing as how it required a food processor (or some vigorous smashing with a hand tool, which seemed like way too much work), and I did not have one, I have yet to make hummus. That being said, I obviously now have a food processor and it wasn’t hummus that was my first smooshy bean item on the menu, but chickpea/ceci/garbanzo burgers. Barbecue cheddar chickpea/ceci/garbanzo burgers, to be exact.

I’ll admit, when I found the recipe over at How Sweet It Is I sort of made a face. Not necessarily a disgusted one, but more of a, “Chickpea burgers, how do they work?” one. I didn’t give it much more thought; I just knew that I had to try it and give it my all. I mean, this is for the greater good and what I may consider an odd combination of flavors doesn’t mean it’s bad. I’ve become less judgmental in recent years when it comes to a mix of flavors, textures, etc. I wouldn’t come up with on my own – red wine & Coke, garlic breadcrumbs over pasta, brown sugar & vegetables – and I’m always so surprised when things end up working out swimmingly. Well, not with the red wine and Coke. That was gross. I really really really am not a red wine person. Now, an Orvieto white with a splash of Strongbow Gold… well that’s a completely different story.

So anyway, finding this recipe and trying it was something new for me. I’ve never made my own burgers before, or at least to the extent of grinding my own “meat”. I can mold a red meat burger into a hockey puck like a pro, and stuff it full of peppery thick cut bacon pieces and cheese until it’s exploding with flavor and crunch and… gah burgers. I love me some burgers. Forgive the segue. Chickpea burgers. These are delicious and would actually be something I’d make at a later junction… especially if I can stuff it full of bacon. Mmm.

Barbecue Cheddar Chickpea Burgers

Source:  How Sweet It Is [BBQ Cheddar Chickpea Burgers]

Ingredients

1/4 cup chopped red onion
1/2 teaspoon olive oil + 1/2 tablespoon
1/2 cup broccoli
1 medium-sized peeled carrot, chopped
1 (15 ounce) can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1/2 cup freshly grated cheddar cheese + more for topping
2 tablespoons barbeque sauce + more for topping
1 teaspoon honey
2 1/2-3 tablespoons whole wheat pastry flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika
1/8 teaspoon onion powder

Directions

1) Heat a small skillet over low heat and add 1/2 teaspoon olive oil. Throw in onions with a pinch of salt, stir to coat, then let cook and caramelize for 5-6 minutes. This should happen fairly quickly since they are chopped small. Remove from heat and set aside.

2) In the bowl of your food processor, add broccoli and carrot, pulsing until chopped very finely. Add chickpeas, sauce, honey, flour, cheese, onions, salt, pepper, paprika and onion powder. Process and pulse until completely combined but not pureed. Carefully remove from processor bowl and form into 4 burgers. If you feel that your burgers and somewhat delicate, refrigerate for about 30 minutes.

3) Heat a large skillet over medium heat and add remaining olive oil. Once hot, add burgers to the skillet and cook on each side until golden brown and crispy on the outsides, about 3-4 minutes. Be gentle when flipping and removing burgers so they don’t crack or fall apart. Serve on toasted buns with additional cheddar, red onion and sauce.

