July 17

Quinoa Stuffed Bell Peppers

For the life of me, I didn’t think to write down the name of the book I took this recipe from. If I were a good food blogger, and a decent human being, I would give proper credit. Alas, while I strive to be honest about recipes, I can’t give credit where credit is due, unless someone can help me with the name of the book. I’m thinking the page I photo copied may have a name at the top or the bottom, but since those pages only exist at home on my desk (and I’m at work), the source will have to remain nameless until I can place it.  Found it!!

But this is also a recipe that’s floating all over the internet from different people who got it from a friend, who got it from a magazine, who dug it up out of a crypt in Poland. Or something. So I don’t feel 100% terrible that I can’t name the source. Just know, this is not my original recipe.

Anyway.

Since my gal pal loves quinoa, I thought this was an excellent recipe to start the cooking marathon with, and because I was multi-tasking to feed myself and needed something that didn’t require much supervision. The Fellow™ and I love quinoa, as I believe I have made evident in the past, and that was another big appeal for making this recipe. Unfortunately, as I waited for the quinoa to cook, The Fellow™ looked at the dog and asked, “Little man, did you fart?” Yes, sweetie. The dog’s farts smell like quinoa. Or rather, quinoa smells like dog farts. /sigh

Going beyond canine gas, this was a really easy recipe and packs a lot of flavor. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it until I die, quinoa is wonderful in picking up all sorts of flavors, so even though this recipe calls for only a small amount of spices, it can be tailored to any palate and work well!

Quinoa Stuffed Bell Peppers

Source: The Whole Foods Market Cookbook

Ingredients

2 green bell peppers
2 red bell peppers
1 cup dry quinoa
1 large carrot, finely diced
1/2 medium yellow onion, finely diced
1 stalk celery, finely diced
cayenne pepper
salt
olive oil

Directions

1) Halve the bell peppers and clean out the insides. Place on a baking sheet and drizzle or spritz with olive oil. Sprinkle a little salt and cayenne on the bell peppers and put in the oven at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes until the peppers are soft.

2) Meanwhile, cook the quinoa per package instructions (typically 1 cup of quinoa and 2 cups of water).

3) In a skillet, add a little bit of olive oil and and heat over medium. Saute the onions, celery, and carrot together until the vegetables become tender and start to brown. Add the cooked quinoa with a bit more olive oil and saute all the ingredients. Season with salt, a little more cayenne, and I added black pepper to the recipe.

4) Remove the bell peppers from the oven and stuff with the quinoa mix.

5) Once stuffed, place the bell peppers in a baking dish with 1/2 cup of water. Cover in foil, and bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes.

