July 17

Black Bean Burritos

Here we have another vegetarian-themed food for my friend that smelled so good making, I had hoped the filling would stretch further than it already did to make a bunch extra for me for future meals. Alas, this was not the case and my friend reaped the benefits alone.

The more and more I work with foods for her freezer, the more I realize how simple the recipes are (and not very time-consuming, really), and that I should be doing it for myself. I’m one of those people who will come up with a list of ideas for food to make ahead, will buy the ingredients, and then either get so busy or so lazy that those meals never come together like they should. I end up using broccoli for this meal instead of that one, or the produce ends up spoiling before I get a chance to use it. What I’m left with is a pile of ingredients that need to come together somehow and nothing ever sounds good at the time. I’ve vowed to get better about these types of things, because the gods know I don’t have money to waste.

So here’s a recipe for a delicious vegetarian burrito filled full of some really delicious ingredients.

Black Bean Burritos

Source: Pescetarian Living [Black Bean Burritos]

Ingredients

1 16 ounce can of black beans, rinsed
1 onion, finely chopped
1 clove of garlic, minced
3/4 cup vegetable broth
1 Tablespoon cooking oil
1/2 jalapeño pepper, seeded and minced (more or less depending on spiciness preference)
1/2 red bell pepper, seeded and chopped
1 carrot, shredded
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 tsp coriander powder
1/2 tsp ground cumin
2 Tablespoon fresh cilantro, chopped
8 small flour tortillas whole wheat high fiber/low carb tortillas
shredded Monterey Jack cheese or crumbled queso fresco

Directions

1) Preheat oven to 350.

2) Heat the oil and 1/4 cup of the broth in a large pot over medium heat, add the salt, onion, garlic, and jalapeño and cook until soft (about 5-10 minutes).

3) Add the carrot, bell pepper, the remaining broth, the beans, and the coriander and cumin and simmer for another 10 minutes, using the back of a wooden spoon to smash up some of the beans to make a consistency similar to refried beans.

4) Remove from heat and stir in the cilantro.

5) Put 2 heaping tbsp of bean mixture into the center of each tortilla and sprinkle with desired amount of cheese.

6) Roll up and line up the burritos in a 13×9 inch baking pan (you may want to use toothpicks to keep the burritos closed).

7) Bake, uncovered, 15 minutes until cheese melts and the tortillas lightly toast.

