July 11

Beef & Sausage Meatballs

I love meatballs. I always have. To me, there’s nothing better than a big pile of spaghetti with chunky meat sauce and a mountain of meatballs. Granted, I do just about everything in moderation these days, so while, yes, I love me some delicious meatballs, a few on my small plateful of pasta and I’m satisfied. But making meatballs is such a pain when you want to whip up a quick dinner. I mean, meatballs don’t take all that long – and you will see as much if you make this recipe – but when you’re already starving and you’re impatiently awaiting dinner to finish, meatballs are the last thing you want to make. You suddenly decide that meatballs aren’t necessary.

And this is often the case. Meatballs aren’t necessary. They’re definitely a nice addition, however. So I did what I have been saying I would do for nearly a year, and I made bulk meatballs. Something like 50 meatballs, from one batch. These will last us a nice long while if stored in the freezer.

One thing I found while waiting for them to cool off enough to put into a freezer for storage was that I was walking back the stove top, swiping one from the plate, and ever so nonchalantly popping it into my mouth. So my yield was less than 50. Not much less, but enough that I had had my meatball fill at that very moment – and we hadn’t even had dinner yet! -_-

So if you’re looking for a recipe that’s relatively easy to make and leaves a lot of leftovers for future food endeavors, this is your opportunity. You could even mix and match some of the ingredients, like:¬† ground turkey and spicy Italian sausage; ground chicken, ground beef, and cheese; ground buffalo and turkey sausage. The combinations are nearly limitless!

Beef & Sausage Meatballs

Ingredients

1 pound ground beef
1/2 pound Italian sausage
2/3 cup dry breadcrumbs
1/4 cup milk + 2 Tablespoons
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon pepper
1 large egg

Directions

1) Heat oven to 400 degrees.

2) Mix all ingredients together in a bowl, preferably using your hands to combine them well.

3) Roll into balls of any size.

4) Place in ungreased pan.

5) Bake, uncovered, for 20-25 minutes.

