July 09

Strawberry Ice Cream Sandwiches

I really do love ice cream. I love making ice cream from scratch and getting to play with flavors. I look forward to doing so in the near future, as I have a bunch of thoughts running through my head, especially after trying to many delicious gelato flavors whilst abroad.

For this recipe, however, I did not make my own ice cream, as time was of the essence and I needed to slap something together quick. Store bought is far easier to wield sometimes. Especially when it’s on sale.

We have dinner with The Fellow’s™ cousin, his wife, and the kiddos about once a month. I usually bring a dessert. This was my contribution, seeing as how no one can resist ice cream sandwiches (even those of us who dislike chocolate *ahem*), and what’s more, no one can resist itty bitty ice cream sandwiches that were handmade. I mean, really. Individually (and shoddily) wrapped scrumptious morsels? The only thing that would have made them more irresistible is if I had printed up cute name tags for everyone. But I’m not that cutesy-wutesy and I have better things to do with my time. Hence the shoddy wrapping.

ANYWAY!

To keep this short and sweet (just like me ~), I gave you a recipe I stole from the Instructables website – which as a side note, is a totally awesome site if you have time to peruse.

Strawberry Ice Cream Sandwiches

Source:  Instructables [Ice Cream Sandwich]

Ingredients

1/2 cup butter, melted
1/2 cup white granulated sugar
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup naturally unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 pints ice cream, slightly softened*

*Directions call for 2 pints but I bought a half gallon and used not even half of it.

Directions

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees, and center the top rack.

2) Microwave or melt the butter on the stove. Make sure it is completely liquified with no lumps.

3) Whisk butter and sugar together. Whisk in the egg and vanilla, mixing well. Add flour, cocoa, and salt. Combine until smooth.

4) Line a baking sheet with a piece of parchment paper with a bit of lip or with a silicone mat. A good size for the baking sheet is 10×15. Spread the mixture evenly on the baking sheet.

5) Bake 10 minutes. 5 minutes in, turn the pan around to make sure it browns evenly.

6) Cool completely. Cut in equal halves with a serrated knife.

The consistency of the ice cream should be firm, but malleable. You don’t want it to become liquid as you’re applying it to the bottom half of the sandwich, but you don’t want it so firm that you might tear the sandwich bottom.

7) On one half of the chocolate sandwich, apply the ice cream! Make it as thick or thin of a layer as desired. It can be spread to the edge of the sandwich or set it back just a hair to allow for a lip. Make it as smooth as possible for a clean fit. Place other half of sandwich to the top.

8) Wrap tightly with plastic wrap and place in the freezer for a minimum of 2 hours. The longer in the freezer, the better! When completely solid, remove from the freezer and cut into preferred size for individual servings with a serrated knife. Wrap individually and keep in freezer for up to 1 week.

