July 09

Linguine with Garlicky Breadcrumbs

So yes, I realize that it has been well over a month since I lasted posted. But for those of you that do read this blog, you know why I was MIA for at least a portion of that month+. I’ve debated whether or not I should post the recipes for the food I made in our tiny kitchen in Italy and part of me says yes, while the other part says “You don’t even fucking remember what you did to make that dish!” Pulling instructions out of my ass, folks. That’s the story of me and my cuisine.

Until I come to a full decision on whether or not to post the handful of recipes from Bomarzo, I decided to dawdle with some other things I’ve made since being back in America.

I have to say, I have a love-hate relationship with pasta. I liked it well enough as a kid, even though the extent of pasta was spaghetti or angel hair noodles with some red sauce and ground beef with barely any flavor and no extra veggies. I was picky and unappreciative of my mother’s cooking. Fast forward to college:  my idea of pasta was Ravioli and Spaghetti-O’s. Yes. Yes. Make fun of me. Move forward another short while and I’ve met my best friend whose idea of a filling lunch or dinner was pasta (usually penne or farfalle) with a bunch of garlic and butter. I got sick of that real quick.

In recent years, since The Fellow™ and I have been together, I’ve branched out a slight bit to something more than just Plain Jane Ragu brand sauce over whatever shape pasta we had bought. After spending the two weeks in Italy and trying a little bit of everything, I can’t stop eating pasta. I mean, obviously I have stopped eating it, in that I don’t eat it for every meal, but since having some of the most amazing, fresh (and delicious!) pasta abroad, I’m soooo willing to bring home some of that flavor… as best as I can in Kitsap County.

Tonight’s choice was a recipe I found via Pinterest on the MyRecipes.com website before I went on my adventure. I kept putting off buying the ingredients, then when I finally did, I was more enamored with dining out with The Fellow™ than I was making stuff at home. Then I gained like… 6 lbs. LOLwups.

So I bring you, (whole wheat) linguine with garlic breadcrumbs:

Linguine with Garlicky Breadcrumbs

Source: MyRecipes.com [Linguine with Garlicky Breadcrumbs]

Ingredients

1 slice day-old hearty white bread (such as Pepperidge Farm), torn
3/4 cup toasted breadcrumbs
3 tablespoons olive oil, divided
6 garlic cloves, minced
8 ounces uncooked whole wheat linguine
1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Directions

1) Heat 1 1/2 tablespoons oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add garlic; cook 30 seconds, stirring constantly. Remove from heat, and let stand 5 minutes. Return pan to heat. Stir in breadcrumbs, and cook 6 minutes or until lightly browned, stirring frequently.

2) Cook pasta according to package directions, omitting salt and fat; drain. Place pasta in a large bowl. Add 1 1/2 teaspoons oil, breadcrumbs, parsley, lemon juice, salt, and black pepper; toss gently to combine. Serve immediately.

