May 30

Whole Wheat Sugar Cookies

There are days when I’m really good about my ‘diet’. I don’t have weird cravings, I don’t have hunger pains in between meals, I don’t deviate from my 1200 calories, 110 carbs, 24 sugars, etc. There are days when everything I eat makes me crave the opposite flavor, e.g. salty dinner means I want ice cream/frozen yogurt/candy, etc. Luckily, in most cases, popcorn can fill the spots of both salty and sweet if needed. But what do you do when you don’t want popcorn?

Wander your neighborhood gas station’s mini mart deciding which of their candies sound best, of course!

Except when I couldn’t decide on what to buy, I walked out of the mini mart empty handed and figured it for the best. That meant I could make cookies and eat cookie dough and get my sugar craving filled. I had wanted to make a peanut butter oatmeal cookie over the long weekend, but somehow time got away from me, and I didn’t do anything two of the three days. Sort of beating myself up a little about actually making cookies, I reminded myself that I vowed to bake one thing each week, to both give me something to do and to keep up with my baking.

But because I was beating myself up, I started looking up recipes for cookies that were slightly healthier. I know, I know. A healthy cookie? Really? The recipes are definitely abundant, but as far as something that actually sounded good and I had the ingredients in the house? They were slim. Or, everything wanted me to pack chocolate into the dough and I was not wanting chocolate in the least. Chocolate is my enemy most days. It and I do not get along. On occasion I will indulge, but chocolate is not my bag. I came across this recipe and was pleasantly surprised to see the reviews on it were good, even though I sometimes have my suspicions that some people don’t know what’s good (e.g. our palates are not the same and what is touted as delicious is a pile of crap for me), but I could afford to waste a batch of dough if they didn’t come out.

At the end of the mixing process, I tasted the dough and was on the fence as to whether or not it would produce a tasty cookie. It had that stiff wheat flour taste to it. I was a little fearful as I placed my hastily balled up dough in the oven, but happy with the end result. My batch yielded 45 cookies, making them a nice little treat with low nutrition stats (for a cookie).

Whole Wheat Sugar Cookies

Source: Cooks.com [Whole Wheat Sugar Cookies]

Ingredients

1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon soda
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 cup butter, softened
2 Tablespoon milk
1 Tablespoon grated orange peel
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 egg
2 cups whole wheat flour
2 Tablespoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Direction

1) Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

2) In large bowl combine first 10 ingredients; blend well. Stir in flour. Combine sugar and cinnamon in a separate bowl.

3) Shape dough into 1-inch balls; roll in cinnamon-sugar mixture. Place on ungreased cookie sheets, 2 inches apart; flatten slightly.

4) Bake 8- 10 minutes until light golden brown. (Cookies will be soft in center.) Yield 2-4 dozen cookies.

