March 31

Broccoli & Bean Cappelletti

Until recently, I didn’t like broccoli all that much. I didn’t dislike it; it just wasn’t something I actively sought out. If a dish I was being served included it, I ate it. But I wouldn’t specifically search for items on restaurant menus that had it because my body was craving it like it is right now. In the last week or so, my body – in an effort to do I don’t know what – has been craving things like broccoli, cauliflower, grapes, and pineapple. Which, hey, all healthy things! Some moreso than others thanks to sugars and carbs, but still. Fruit is fruit and vegetables are vegetables. I’ll admit that we go through spurts where you can’t find hide nor hair of fruit in the house. At the end of the week, I feel extremely guilty that this has happened. We love fruit. Fruit is our friend. But when I do 99% of the grocery shopping and the bill is expensive as all get out from things like fruit and vegetables and we use it all up in a couple of days? I’m not so willing to head back to the store to buy more. Not that soon, anyway.

Anyway, back to broccoli.

As previously mentioned, I’ve been making my own fun, tasty lunches for work during the week. During that research, I ran across several ideas for dinners for us that incorporated healthy and tasty, that wasn’t soup. They weren’t recipes, per se, but combinations of things that – again – I wouldn’t have thought of on my own; or would have if they were the only ingredients left in the house and we were starving.

As a note:  I have a really hard time following recipes. I guess one beautiful thing about them – especially for things like entrees that are a combination of foods and flavors that can vary – is that so many components are interchangeable and don’t always require what the recipe calls for. Now, if it’s a sweet and sour sauce, you better believe I’m going to follow the recipe, since the recipe more than likely knows what it’s doing more than I do. But if it’s a pasta that calls for a bunch of vegetables, including eggplant (something neither The Fellow™ nor I enjoy much), it can hit the road and be substituted by something we prefer. If a recipe calls for a particular spice, say thyme or sage, I tend to forget to put those in unless they are the main staple of the meal, e.g. sage and cheese biscuits. I don’t lack reading comprehension skills (though sometimes I wonder…), but I suppose in my effort to put my own spin on things, I deviate from what is supposedly good and making it my own kind of good.

That mouthful all being said, I have no real inspiration to give credit to for this one. A big thanks to the internet as a whole will have to do.

Broccoli & Bean Cappelletti

Ingredients

1 medium bunch of broccoli, chopped
1 1/2 cups choice of pasta
1/2 can of Northern white beans, rinsed of juices
2 Tablespoons olive oil
2 Tablespoons butter
2 teaspoons minced garlic
pepper, to taste

Directions

1) Cook pasta per directions and preferences.

2) In a large skillet, heat olive oil over medium. Add broccoli to saute until soft, but still firm. Add garlic and stir with broccoli until fragrant. Add rinsed white beans to the skillet, again mixing to heat. Season with pepper.

3) Reduce heat and add butter. Remove skillet from heat and let residual warmth melt butter, while coating the broccoli and beans in it. What’s left in the pan should resemble a very light sauce, but only a minimal amount. Serve over pasta.

