March 30

Creamy Cauliflower & Kielbasa

I want to scale back the amount of money I spend on lunches. I’m notorious for going out to Central Market every day and getting everything from pizza and salad to Mexican, pasta, hot dogs, snackies, etc. Whatever suits me that day, and that’s the huge appeal of a place like Central Market that offers everything. It’s reasonably cheap to feed myself there, but considering I have to drive down there, buy the food, and come back, and I do this on a regular basis – I’m spending even more money on gas and having to clock out for my travel time for lunch. Not ideal in the least.

I decided that I wanted to start preparing my lunches the weekend or a few days before so that my only decision in the morning is “Do I want this or this?” versus my usual “Uggggggh, what do I want to eat?” If I’m hungry and don’t know what I want, it can take me an hour to decide. If you tell me my choices are turkey or beef, I can make my decision in a heartbeat. In the end, it’s really that simple.

I’ll admit, I can’t recall where I ran across this blog/recipe. It might have been Pinterest, it might have been I followed a link to follow another link to follow another. You know how that goes. Either way, I landed on Nook & Pantry and was just floored seeing such a simple combination and couldn’t believe how good it sounded. I knew it was something I had to try. So cut to me making my list of ingredients to buy for my new lunch time endeavors. Homemade “lunchables”, creamy cauliflower & kielbasa, white bean chicken burritos, and so on.

With list in hand, I went to the store, got my ingredients and was so excited to get cooking, especially this recipe. Lo and behold, on the way home, my alternator decided to die. Fortunately for me, it did so in our driveway. Unfortunately for me, I didn’t know it was the alternator offhand, which meant we spent the rest of the afternoon driving around to the various auto part stores to find out nobody actually stocked my part number for a battery. Also, seeing as it was a Sunday afternoon, there was little I could do since the dealership’s service center was closed for the rest of the day and I had work in the morning. Needless to say, I had to take Monday off to get the car towed and fixed. While I waited for the expensively bad news, I cooked and cooked. This was one of those recipes and this was one thing that made me very happy.

Creamy Cauliflower & Kielbasa

Source:  Nook & Pantry [Creamy Cauliflower & Kielbasa]

Ingredients

1 medium head cauliflower, cut into florets
16 ounces kielbasa
1 can (15 ounces) Campbell’s condensed cream of mushroom soup
10 ounces milk
salt, to taste
pepper, to taste

Directions

1) Cut kielbasa half moons, about 1/2″ thick. Brown in a large skillet. Mix the can of cream of mushroom with the milk until mostly smooth (it will be lumpy because of the chunks of mushroom in it) in a small bowl. Remove the kielbasa from pan, leaving burned film on bottom of pan. Pat dry to remove excess grease.

2) Return kielbasa to the pan and mix with the cream of mushroom and milk, season with a little pepper and salt, and add florets of cauliflower. Scrape the bottom of the pan with a wooden spoon, combining the burned bits with the rest of the ingredients. Pan will end up clean in the end.

3) Cover pan with a lid and cook over medium heat until desired tenderness of the cauliflower is achieved.

