March 12

Hungarian Stew

In the last few years, I’ve come to embrace the crock pot. It is a magical appliance that rarely produces a bad meal. Sure, it’s a pain in the ass to clean, especially because we opted for the minivan sized one, versus a luxury sedan or even possibly the economy, but that just means there’s more leftovers! Which means more money goes into the meal to double the recipe, because the pot is too big to accommodate small amounts of liquid that wouldn’t have any issue in a smaller one! Which means double the shopping bill!

Anyway, I digress.

This meal here, a simple Hungarian chicken stew (don’t ask if it’s traditional – I couldn’t tell you), is great the day after, or the day after that, so I don’t mind splurging a little more for an extra can of this or a little more of that. It’s delicious and needs to be eaten all the time. Though, having condensed cream of chicken soup every day might not be all that heart healthy. And considering I was just lecturing The Fellow™ about how he’s going to die on his next birthday from all the butter he puts on his popcorn, I’m a little concerned about heart healthfulness. Not so much that I’m totally changing my lifestyle to guarantee I won’t die of a massive coronary (because let’s face it, the damage is already done and a little more won’t hurt [I kid]), but these days I prefer my popcorn barely buttered with some white cheddar sprinkled over top.

Again. Another digression. We’re not talking popcorn here, are we? Not yet at least.

So. This stew. It’s yummy. You’ll have to try it to understand how much of a comfort food it is for me. But it’s top notch. It’s easy, it is relatively cheap to make no matter what size of crock pot you own, and it goes amazingly well with mashed potatoes. Yeah. Stew and mashed potatoes. From the ingredients down below, you’ll see just how simplistic it is, though I will say, I forgot to add carrots to the meal. I always put carrots in it and somehow, I was so preoccupied with getting my bread ingredients together that I forgot to cube some carrots. No matter, though. It was still, in the words of the LOLcats, omnomnom.

Hungarian Stew

Ingredients

1 pound of chicken (tenderloins are the best)
1 can condensed cream of chicken
3/4 cup water
2 Tablespoons paprika
2 Tablespoons pepper
1/2 cup green bell peppers, diced
1/2 cup carrots, cubed or diced (optional)
1/2 cup sour cream

Directions

1) In a crock pot of any size, combine the chicken (frozen or thawed), cream of chicken, 1/2 cup of water, paprika, pepper, bell peppers, and carrots, if using. Cover and cook on low for upwards of 7 hours. On high, check on the meal after about 3 1/2 hours.

2) Occasionally peek at the meal and add the remaining water about half way through the cooking process. Mix well to integrate the water into the cream of chicken.

3) About half an hour before serving (15 minutes if on high), add the sour cream. Mix well and cover.

This meal is best served with a side of mashed potatoes, but is not necessary.

