March 11

Ginger Banana Bread

Banana bread. Who doesn’t love it? Let’s not count people who don’t like bananas, who don’t eat carbs, or don’t like sugary things. So who doesn’t love it? The texture, the flavor, the smell. Oohhh the smell. I hate walnuts. My banana loaves are missing walnuts. But that’s okay. Because walnuts don’t make or break it; the other ingredients do.

I bought some bananas awhile back. I instructed The Fellow™ that he could have as many as he wanted, as long as he left three. Those three were to sit on the counter in the kitchen until they were nearly ooey-gooey, before going rotten. It got to the point where I didn’t have time to make the bread; work’s been so busy, all my waking hours not spent at work were spent trying to make dinner, tending to the dog, and trying to get good rest. Alas, a weekend was upon me when I was no longer in possession of said puppyface (temporarily) and all my house work was done. Knowing the bananas were on the brink of good, almost bad, I settled into my house slippers and lumberjack pajama pants to get to work on the baking.

I had done some previous research on making banana bread healthier. The Fellow’s™ mom has a Stevia cookbook in progress, but because of her diabetes and strict diet, has let it shift to the back burner. I hear agave nectar is a great substitute, too. In the end, I decide that based on the difficulty of finding Stevia in a grocery store near me, and agave nectar being as bad as high fructose corn syrup, I’m just going to stick with a simple recipe that substitutes some whole wheat flour for all purpose white. And ginger. Let’s add some ginger. ‘Cause why not?

I whipped up everything in the bowl of my KitchenAid, hesitant on how much ginger I should actually use. I was fortunate enough to have some on hand, but it was starting to turn an ocean blue-green around the edges, so my yield was not as good as I had originally planned. What came to fruition was an incredibly moist, flavorful banana bread with miniscule hints of ginger. The next time around, I’m doubling the amount of ginger when it’s not turning blue and maybe looking to substitute some Splenda or similar to cut down on the sugar.

Ginger Banana Bread

Source: BettyCrocker.com [Whole Wheat Banana Bread]
Serves: 12

Ingredients

1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
3 medium bananas, mashed
2″ piece of fresh ginger, minced
3/4 cup white granulated sugar
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
2 large eggs

Directions

1) Grease a loaf pan and preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

2) In a large mixing bowl, combine all ingredients. Using an electric mixer, beat together everything for another 30-45 seconds on low setting. Scrape the sides of the bowl. Turn mixer to medium and beat for another 45-60 seconds. If batter is lumpy, that’s okay, but try to minimize the amount.

3) Pour batter into the greased loaf pan and put on a rack low enough so that the top of the pan is in the center of the oven. Bake for upwards of 55 minutes, until inserting a toothpick or form comes out clean.

