February 29

Quinoa Fried Rice

I’ve become bored with food recently. A shocking thing to hear from someone who’s blogging about food, I know. But I guess it’s coupled with my stress and exhaustion that comes from work, so by the time I get home, I just want to take my shower and go to bed. Bland foods sound as good as flavorful ones. I also think a part of it is not being able to peruse websites on my breaks at work, because I’m not getting breaks thanks to us being busy and down one man. Therefore, no inspirations or straight borrows to be had.

From time to time, I crave Chinese food; or rather, Asian cuisine in general. Trying to keep my pocketbook full, attempting to make a meal based on what little is in the cabinets that could mimic what I crave is difficult, but when in doubt, there’s always fried rice.

But carb filled rice? Do I really want to sabotage my diet with a full serving (or more) of just straight rice in heavily doused soy sauce? I do. Because I love rice. I also love quinoa. Fried rice. Minus the rice. Plus quinoa? Could it be done? Of course!

Now the only problem I faced was not thinking of this idea sooner when I was at the local whole foods market where I buy my bulk quinoa. Had I known at lunch this was going to be my dinner objective, I would have bought more, as I knew I didn’t have enough for one dry cup. So what came to fruition was a 1/2 cup of tri-color quinoa with a 1/2 cup of white rice. Not completely destroying my progress, but not completely devoid of flavor and texture. Not that quinoa alone lacks either of those.

I’m quite happy with this end result, though I would have preferred a little more bite to the grains; a little more fried and a little less sog. Is sog even a word?

Quinoa Fried Rice

Ingredients

1/2 cup dry tri-color quinoa
1/2 cup dry white rice
3 large eggs
1/2 cup carrots, shredded
2 ounces of Portuguese sausage, cut into bite size pieces
1/4 cup onions, finely diced
2 cloves of garlic, finely diced
3 Tablespoons soy sauce
1 3/4 cup water
2 Tablespoons olive oil
pepper to taste

Directions

1) In a medium pot, combine quinoa and rice with water and bring to boil at high heat. Reduce heat to low and cover until all water has absorbed. Fluff with fork and set aside.

2) In a large skillet, heat 1 Tablespoon of olive oil on medium-high. Add onions and garlic to pan and cook until onions are tender and translucent. Add eggs and lightly scramble until fully cooked, but not overly dry. Remove from pan and set aside.

3) Clean out the large skillet and heat 1 Tablespoon of olive oil on medium-high. Add cooked rice and quinoa to skillet and pat together into one compact, flush bunch. Stir occasionally and flatten again. After about 5 minutes, add scrambled eggs with onion and garlic, carrots, sausage, soy sauce (distributed evenly), and pepper to rice. Mix together well and flatten out again. Let sit in hot skillet for another 3-5 minutes, stir, and repeat once more. Grains should be a light brown color and slightly crisp without being overdone.

