January 14

Mum’s Meatloaf

There was a time when we ate so much red meat in our house that I honestly thought I would never want to eat burgers, steak, spaghetti, and whatever else you could put it into, ever again. It was excruciating to have it so often. In fact, a conversation at work the other day reminded me that I can barely recall having chicken for meals. I can think of two dinner items that included chicken, and the rest… gods, did we really eat that much beef? /mind boggled

Anyway, one thing I will admit to missing while I boycotted our family beef dinners was my mom’s meatloaf; what I’ve come to lovingly refer to as Mum’s Meatloaf. There was something about it, something about the flavor, the texture, the constant combination of it + mashed potatoes from scratch + corn, that made me happy. When I went away to college, Mum’s Meatloaf no longer existed for the majority of the year. Inevitably, we’d have it several times while I was home for the summer, and I’d have to beg her to work it into her rotation over winter break, since time was far more limited than during my other break.

My parents can attest to this, but I used to mash the meatloaf, the potatoes, and the corn together to make a mountainous meat slurry that I could gobble down. My logic was that it was going to end up together in my belly anyway, so why not streamline the process and make one delicious lump out of dinner. They placed bets on whether I would do it or not when I brought my first boyfriend home in high school. I was a polite young lady and did not do such a thing, and ate like a normal human being, but you better believe that after the boyfriend went home for the night, I made myself another plate where I squished it all together.

These days, I once again eat like a normal human being when we make it, which is pretty often, now that I have received the recipe, have committed it to my brain, and can have it whenever I want because I’m an adult. So I share with you, the wonderment that is my Mum’s Meatloaf.

Mum’s Meatloaf

Ingredients

1 pound 93% lean ground beef
1 cup plain breadcrumbs
1 large egg
1 package of Lipton Onion-Mushroom soup mix
1/4 cup water
2 Tablespoons ketchup

Directions

1)  Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F and line a loaf pan with tin foil, for easier clean up.

2) In a large bowl, combine the ground beef, breadcrumbs, egg, soup mix, water, and ketchup together with your hands. Mix well, until the meat has turned a lighter shade of red (from the incorporation of the ingredients) and has a slightly tacky exterior. Form into a loaf, approximately 2.5″ – 3″ tall, and place inside of the loaf pan.

3) Bake for 35-40 minutes. The finished product should have a thick, rough outer texture and should be completely dry in the middle. Wet meat on the inside indicates it’s not done yet.

