January 01

Sausage Kale Soup

I have been wanting to make this soup since the middle of last week, but kept getting thwarted at every turn. I was fearful my kale would go bad (since it’s Walmart produce and their fresh food is notorious for going south quickly in my fridge), so I shoved it down our throats on New Years Eve.

I spend a good deal of free time at work looking up new and fun recipes on various websites. Places like bettycrocker.com, marthastewart.com, allrecipes.com, foodnetwork.com, and various food blogs are fantastic sites for figuring out your next meal. Sometimes, I’m lucky enough to have all the ingredients in the cupboards and fridge; sometimes, I have to buy everything but the spices. I guess my inability to just let go and try new, weird things has saved us from having an unsuccessful meal thus far, or I just have really good taste in things (the latter being the least likely scenario).

That being said, I’m not a huge fan of kale. When I was in high school, I had a couple guinea pigs. I had read that guinea pigs like kale. Having never had kale, I didn’t even know what it was. My local grocer obviously had it and upon purchasing it for my butterballs, I tried some too. I think my tastebuds didn’t forgive me for many years after that. My mom tried to warn me that my extremely picky palate would not enjoy it, but being such a rebellious teen, I had to try it. Anyway, along the way, The Fellow™ has made soup with it and I could stomach it, and in fact, enjoy it. Seeing this recipe on Martha Stewart’s website, I knew I had to have another showdown with it.

I tweaked this recipe to have Italian sausage instead of chicken, as it’s what we had and was a good enough substitute. I was excited to try this. I was very happy with the results.

Sausage Kale Soup

source: marthastewart.com [Sausage and Kale Soup]

Ingredients

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 onion, diced
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/4 teaspoon crushed red-pepper flakes
5 waxy potatoes (1 1/2 pounds), peeled and cut into 1/2-inch chunks *
3 cans (14 1/2 ounces each) reduced-sodium chicken broth
1 bunch kale (12 ounces), stemmed and shredded **
12 ounces smoked chicken sausage, cut into 1/2-inch half moons
2 Tarantino spicy Italian sausage

*As a note, I did not peel my potatoes. I rather like the skin of Yukon Gold potatoes. I also only used 4 medium sized ones.

**I also did not use a full bunch of kale, as I didn’t want a kale and kale soup. I shredded 3 large leafs and that was more than enough for the soup.

I did not add any pepper or salt to this recipe. There was enough naturally occurring salt from the sausage and kale.

Directions

1) Brown the sausage in a skillet until thoroughly cook. Do not season. Remove from pan and soak up the excess grease on paper towels. Set aside.

2) In a soup pot, heat oil over medium. Add onion and cook until soft and translucent. Don’t let the onion burn. Add garlic and red-pepper flakes. Let cook together about a minute. Add potatoes and broth; bring to a full boil on high. Reduce heat to low-medium; simmer until potatoes are tender.

3) Remove 3/4 of the potatoes with some broth and mash. Return to pot. Add kale and sausage. Simmer until kale is wilted, 10 to 15 minutes.

