December 19

Puppy Chow Redux

This time of year, I get reminiscent of the things I used to do when I was a kid. Hiding under the Christmas tree at the very back, gently slicing open presents with my fingernail, hopefully for the best present ever, then taping the packages shut. Making batch after batch of butter cookies with an old timey cookie press with my dad. Wishing for it to snow on Christmas day, but knowing that won’t happen because we lived in Hawaii. Now that I’m older, I’m starting traditions of my own. Our family is itty bitty (me, The Fellow™, and the little fuzzy Apolloman), so whatever I do choose to do only extends as far as us, and more often than not, just me and The Fellow™.

That being said, this year, I’m carrying on what I started two years ago — puppy chow and gingerbread cookies. Yes, it’s a silly little tradition but it’s a delicious tradition and as a food person, I approve.

So tonight, I bestow upon you a recipe for puppy chow (muddy buddies, to others), but with a little twist.

Puppy Chow Redux

Ingredients

1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
1/4 cup unsalted butter
3/4 cup Andes Creme de Menthe bits
1/4 cup milk chocolate morsels
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 Tablespoon cinnamon
1 box corn Chex
bunch of powdered sugar

Directions

1) In a microwave safe bowl, heat the peanut butter, butter, and chocolate pieces for 1 minute. Remove from microwave and stir until smooth. Consistency might be watery to start. Add vanilla and cinnamon and stir together well.

2) In a large bowl, combine the Chex and chocolate/peanut butter mixture until the Chex is evenly coated. I have a bowl large enough to where I can add an entire box of Chex one cup at a time and drizzle the mix over, stir around, then another cup, and so on.

3) In a large Ziploc bag or large Tupperware container, add 1 cup powdered sugar and a hefty sprinkle of cinnamon. Combine with the chocolate covered Chex. Seal the bag or the lid of the container and shake until everything is coated. Shovel off into a new bag or Tupperware container for storage and repeat for remaining Chex.

